Another Bit of the World

I met (online) a fascinating person yesterday.She is also a disabled teacher and her blog is very different from mine, yet they both resonate in the world. Just shows you what can happen.

I am hoping you will check hers out ( https://aspergersgirls.wordpress.com/ ) and, perhaps, choose to follow it, too.

My opinion is that the more places you go and the more places you put your influence into, the more the world may become that bit of perfection each of us knows as God.

Speaking of influence, I realized a moment ago how much effect we can truly have on this old world and its ways.  The idea of the seven connections seems true enough to me.  That states, basically, that seven connections put each of us in touch with everyone else in the world.

I tested it once.  I asked my daughter (who was telling me about it) to connect me to a street urchin in India.  She said that she had gone to school with (his name) and his grandmother still lived in India.  She was certain that woman knew at least one street urchin.  So, me to daughter to student to grandmother to urchin!  only 4 connections!

To connect two random points here:  I enjoy shopping at Amazon.  I also enjoy actually visiting Wal-Mart.  I noticed today how rude people can be in Wal-Mart.  Rather than be angry, I just decided to go on enjoying myself.  The cash register was a mess,  A young ,foreign mother, who did not speak English well, had to go back twice for something because she didn’t understand what product she needed for the coupon.

I have been very poor; I know what it is to have to spend time at the register figuring out how to undo a mess due to coupons and/or money.  The man behind me made a comment about learning to speak English when in an English country (I know that is a big one now).  He wasn’t particularly angry, but I think he might have been headed that way.  I merely turned my head and stated that she had picked out the wrong item for the coupon and went to get it.

No fuss, no fuming (well, not much) from anyone.  A few minutes later, I was heading to my car.  Point being:  if you use the 7 connection rule,  I just connected some smiles and niceties to millions of people.

A smile is infectious; an attitude can alter the world.

Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

Blog Me This....

A few of my random thoughts from my journey

Life lessons

This site is all about enlightenment

UpLift Girl

...a girl's guide to navigating the crazy journey of life and faith.

The Step Back

Accepted wisdom is an oxymoron. Challenge your assumptions.

Jellico's Stationhouse

Come on in and sit a while...

priorhouse blog

Photos, art - and a little bit of LIT.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

