God’s “Plan”

I am going to step out on a limb, just a bit, today.I would like to tell you an idea I have had and (shudder) ask your opinion of my thoughts as well as give me yours.

Okay? No, that’s not the opinion part.


Anyway, I have had statements made to me in the last couple of weeks or, perhaps, months about the “will” of God or God’s “plan”. Now, it’s not always the same; however, there are many similar points.

Basically, it says that we are to follow God’s will for our entire lives and, in the end, God’s plan will be for us to join Him in heaven; otherwise, it’s hell for us, quite literally. Not mocking, just summarizing cuz I know you have heard this much before.

Here now, are some of my thoughts on the matter.

I really believe that, in the end, everything works out for the betterment for all, and that God has a big hand in the matter.

Staying on track would be easier if we got little nudges all the time.

Now, my thinking recently has been a little more detailed, but kinda vague, too. See, I am human, so I can’t imagine a plan so detailed that it accounts for every human being’s every move every second for hundreds and thousands of years. I also can’t see a true God who gives us free will, but will punish us forever if we don’t follow what He says for less than a hundred years.

I know the argument and I understand it. I studied it for years. It just doesn’t make much sense to me on a common sense level.

So, I throw out the punishment idea (I believe we all go back to God in the end); this is still not very new. But, what I have been thinking is that, perhaps, instead of God planning out our every move and still allowing us free will, how about if God gives us choices, then, when we choose, God either goes ahead with what’s happening cuz it fits, or He does some small miracles (coincidences, in many books) and puts suggestions out there to help us make better decisions and get back on track if we have stepped back?

You see, what I was thinking was that it makes the most sense to me if God, rather than having to know our every move from now to eternity,ย  just keeps making little adjustments to fit with our decisions. It is like the auto-pilot on a plane: it just keeps making minor adjustments all the time to keep the plane on course.

Now, I am not trying to limit God. What I have been trying to do is to get it all to fit within the framework I believe is contained in our lives.

I am reading the above and it seems fairly complicated. But, what I am looking for is simply input: agree, disagree, restate, state something else. If all this can be done without condemning anyone and without judging each other, this will be one great blog post.

If you need another stepping stone, the book “Conversations With God, Book 1” followed by “Friendship With God”, both by Neale Donald Walsh, helped me a great deal over the years.ย  You may not agree with the ideas presented, but many of them do make sense to me and gave me a starting point.

I know you all can do it. Now, prove it!
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • kindredspirit23  On April 8, 2012 at 7:51 am

    And you would be welcome to go on and on…
    You don’t slam others or judge;
    People use that, “if you don’t believe this way (usually straight Christian), you will die and go to hell.” So, I am to live in utter fear (the way I did growing up) that everything I did, said, or even thought was condemning me to eternal hell by a “loving” God. It just doesn’t work for me. Picture a dictator saying, “Now, you can do as you please, but if you don’t do what I want, I will have you shot.”
    Freedom of choice? Please?

    Like

  • Aspergers Girls  On April 8, 2012 at 2:14 am

    Makes sense to me. I’ve always had signs, dreams, and symbols helping me. I don’t believe in good or bad. I believe in working towards the benefit of self and others, trying not to cause harm, and being the best self one can be. I just deleted a whole bunch, because I could go on and on. Well done. ~ Sam ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On April 8, 2012 at 1:17 am

    Agree with you we will all go to god no hell i mean whats the point of burning every one after they died,..if there is hell, punishment should be different like a sloth will have to work too hard or a glutton will have to starve something like that..
    loved the idea of being on auto pilot a lil help here a lil nudge there and keep us on track as the image suggests
    lovely write up ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 8, 2012 at 7:47 am

      Glad to hear that. I imagine that I have hundreds of people who are just thinking, “OMG! He’s like that!” (Me, not God).
      I figure they don’t have much trouble telling me their beliefs. I feel better stating mine.
      Thanks,
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

