Me in a 5K!!!

I just finished reading about the WordPress 5 K walk/run.
Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k

I am to walk 3.1 miles (5K) between April 23 and April 29. Normally, I would say “no problem”. I used to walk 3-4 miles during lunch hour at work (probably didn’t smell good when I got back, but sure felt good).
Heck, when I was 33, I played volleyball at competitive levels 5-7 nights a week (C+), walked 2 miles 3-5 times a week, and took Karate 3 days a week. I was in shape, physically. Mentally? I was still a mess.

Don Quixote – That was me – trying to run after my own windmills.

That was pre-stroke and I didn’t really know my head from a hole in the ground then. It amazes me, when I think back, and realize how good I had it and how much I wasted it because I really didn’t know better (well, make that, “truly understand”).

I had a good job, good education, good (no…great) kids, and was on top of the world, except for my head…I have spent my entire life running away from things that I thought were bad for me and trying to get those things that are good for me. Now, after the stroke, I realize that most of what I was chasing wasn’t worth the trouble and the little things that I didn’t even think about are among some of the most important (Hmm…can we say “life lesson” here?).

If I can do one really big thing with this blog (and I intend to do several), I want to say to every single person reading, seeing, even hearing about this:

“You are the most important thing to you.”

I hope that makes a lot of sense to you. If it truly does and you bother to pay attention, it means that, if you are not around, it does no one or you any good.

You are important! You are needed! You are here for a reason! (Even if you have no idea what that reason is).

Look at me…I thought that the highlight of my life was helping kids who had problems get through them and get an education. That is very important. But now, just a year later, I find myself doing all kinds of things that I never really thought I would be doing…or could do, for that matter.

I never thought I would have the patience or the time to do a blog every day; I never thought I would really do much writing or submit anything; I never thought I would…lots of things.

God took a stroke, probably one of the worst things that could happen to someone, and planted that flower of hope down deep. He had been allowing the fertilizer of love and knowledge and experience to saturate the earth (me) and the stroke was the birth of that seed sprouting and reaching toward the sky.

I know that I could have chosen differently and God would have worked in that, also. I don’t, for one minute, believe God mandated that I have a near-fatal stroke. But, in using all my choices, God led me down this path, keeping me upright and fighting (and loving) so that I could spread how I feel and what I think into a larger world than just in one school.

It is amazing to me!

I just reread all the above and please don’t get the idea that I think I had much to do with this. I slopped around and made many, many poor choices until it all had to come about in this way. I didn’t know what I was doing, but Someone much Higher Up did. I am thankful for that.
I didn’t set out to write all this, but there it is and I like it. So, to get back to basics…I will do that 5K and I may just be prouder of that than most any of my accomplishments so far, because…I am choosing to do this because it simply feels right.

I hope this is making some sense to someone out there…I sure feel like it is.
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aspergers Girls  On April 11, 2012 at 10:54 am

    I like this post a lot. I can see your soul in it–your truth. I relate, too. It is inspirational and resonates with good wishes and love. Well done. 🙂 Sam

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 11, 2012 at 1:31 pm

      Thanks, Sam. I was telling Soma in a reply to her what wonderful people you both are. I feel so lucky to have each of you in my life. Scott

      Like

  • Linda  On April 11, 2012 at 7:26 am

    Makes a lot of sense.

    Like

  • Marisa  On April 11, 2012 at 7:02 am

    Scott,

    You are truly an inspiration to all who know you. I’m so excited to be following your blog… I look forward to the wisdom it will teach me along the way. For whatever it’s worth, I’m proud of you for all your accomplishments. You have an “I can do” attitude as you approach life and what an encouragement that is for the rest of us muddling through.

    Blessings friend as you continue to use your God-given gifts to touch the lives of others (me for one:)

    Big Hugs,

    Marisa

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 11, 2012 at 7:34 am

      Marisa,
      To have you and Ron moving so very far away has been, well, not far from devastating; however, God now chooses for me to continue here and, apparently, widen my circle, while having you two head off to begin a new one. Who knows what will happen down the road? It is sad, but very exciting!!!
      I am so happy you are going to follow my blog and keep the connection tethered just a bit.
      Namaste,
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Iain Kelly

Fiction Writing

contemplateandintimate

Quick reviews so you can spend more time reading, cooking, or living.

Sip Of Wellness

Sip by sip guide to live well

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

