3.1 Mile Walk Starts Today

Well, I just realized that the 3.1 Mile walk (5K) for WordPress starts in a few hours.I have been given until the 29th to finish it.

We are supposed to document it in some way. I decided posting it daily might be a good idea.

Here’s my dilemma: I have this fear that I will forget until evening and keep getting behind in the schedule I have worked out. I didn’t buy a pedometer as planned. I figured that 3.1 miles is about 31 blocks. If I walk out of my drive to the end of the street, turn around walk to the other end and back home, that’s 2 blocks. I plan to do this 3 times per day for 5 days (30 blocks and have 1 left to do on the weekend. It will also give a rain day, just in case.

I still have that fear that I might forget and miss a day. Understand that the stroke helped remove the part of me that procrastinates, but it was replaced with a mind that slips on the stuff not absolutely necessary. Not all the time, just some of it.

It’s different than it used to be. I am not obsessed with it and, if it doesn’t happen, the world will not end (if it does, then I guess won’t matter if I do it as no one will be around – sorry, poor apocalyptic humor-).
I simply want to prove , mostly to myself, that I can do it.

The point to this post is very simple: I may need a bit of encouragement to get it all done. It will be tough for me as I simply don’t walk well. The cane helps, but I wear down quickly. So, simple encouragement is in order.

And, you can feel proud if you give it; that should help boost you up, too.
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aspergers Girls  On April 24, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Sending you positive thoughts and wishes!

    Like

  • kindredspirit23  On April 23, 2012 at 8:45 am

    Okay, I added the pics back the old way. The problem is that now I don’t know who to give credit to. Here’s what I can do. The two pics are from the web. They are not mine. Credit should go to the people who created them. If you know who you are, please state this in a reply and I will add the credits as long as possible.

    Like

  • kindredspirit23  On April 23, 2012 at 8:39 am

    That’s a good enough comment to get me out of the house. I was sitting here thinking, “Do I really want to do this? It will be painful and difficult.” All I could see then was all those hours at rehab. Then, I read, “Yay” with a smiley. I will do the first round. Thanks,
    Scott
    PS-the two pictures were supposed to show up, not the links…guess I will have to go back to the old way or figure out a different way to use “Press It”.

    Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On April 23, 2012 at 12:19 am

    🙂 yay

    Like

Trackbacks

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

