I am Disabled?

One of the things I truly enjoy doing is watching the TED talks on YouTube.

Different experts talking to other experts: TED Talks

These are shorts speeches, messages, demonstrations given by various experts to, basically, the other experts. Now, we get to see them. They are great. Just go to YouTube and enter “TED Talks”, choose one of interest, and watch.

Anyway, one of them was posted on a blog here for AMD Daily entitled “Aimee Mullins: You Can Do It!”. Here is the link:

aimee-mullins-you-can-do-it

I don’t do this the best, so you may have to cut/paste it into your browser.
The whole point of this entire post is that Aimee kept saying how we have defined disability as something horrible and that (who) have no chance at a good life or a successful one.

I thought for a minute, then said, “Wait! I am disabled now!” Suddenly, it became very clear: I am now perceived as someone who should not be able to succeed.

It is why, people find out what all I do and they just “can’t believe” it. I “should not be able to do all these things”. Scary, isn’t it? when you think of it that way. It was for me when it sank in. If enough people say something about you long enough, you may start to believe it; when you do, hope it is good, because it will gain momentum and become a strong part of you.

My salvation is that my family never gave up on me, people, generally, liked me, and I simply refused to give up.

I may have been fighting for the wrong reasons: job, a person, whatever, but I continued to fight even when those things disappeared.

It’s a long trek, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Am I disabled? Yes, I am. Can I be productive and happy and live a good life? Yes, I can (make that “will”).
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • IdentifiedFlyingObjects  On March 1, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    As my best friend from childhood taught me, “No one can take away my attitude!” She was a huge inspiration to me. She was diagnosed with Juvenile Diabetes in 1st grade. We were two peas in pod. Our disabilities, mine a very visible orthopedic one, hers yet virtually invisible, set us apart from our classmates by their incessant bullying and ostracizing. In her early 20’s she lost her vision, began many years on dialysis, had 2 kidney transplants and several amputations. Yet still we laughed and squeezed the joy out of every moment we had together. When she had a heart attack at the age of 35, from complications of long term dialysis her father and I were there beside her holding her hands, when as per her wishes, life support was removed. It’s been 22 years since her Spirit left my mortal world, yet I can still hear her laughter and feel her brilliant smile warming my heart. 🙂

    Like

  • Angelia Sims  On November 30, 2012 at 1:11 am

    My step-dad was a crippled man. Developed Polio as a young boy, and despite many surgeries still ended up with only a fully functioning left leg. He wore a brace on the right. Walked with crutches, until his shoulders gave out and put him in a wheel chair full time.
    You know what? It didn’t stop him. He married, had four step-children. Got his masters and was a college professor all his life. We went on lots of trips. I never realized he was “disabled”. I have a term I like to use instead of handicap. I say Exceptionally Accessible. It truly is exceptional the strength of you all.

    **stopping by from Susie’s Wild Place**

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On November 30, 2012 at 3:01 am

      Oh, I like that. Tonight, it seems, the stroke has taken my sleep once again, so it was nice to see your comment on my page. I spent quite a bit of time watching those clips over again and also another one. It just helps me to know that I am also “exceptionally accessible”. Yes, I do like that a lot!
      Scott

      Like

  • susielindau  On November 28, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    I think that is a really great point! I can see how being labeled could hold a person back.
    Sounds like a great program. Thanks for sharing it with us today Scott!

    Like

  • August McLaughlin  On November 28, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    Inspiring post!

    Like

  • magsx2  On April 22, 2012 at 4:17 am

    Hi,
    That light at the end of the tunnel may seem long, but it can be reached and of course does get reached often, and once there is it like turning a different corner, and heading off in the right direction. 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 22, 2012 at 9:42 am

      I love the way you said, just “turning a corner, and heading off in the right direction.” I took some detours, but I am back on the main road, I think. Scott

      Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On April 22, 2012 at 1:01 am

    It is sometimes irritating and at times funny how people just assume our potential based on our looks or a certain tag we have…
    and you are right those who have some kind of tag are not expected to do well…I have got a lot many omg really your daughter can do this or that..I think well yeah..she is autistic not dumb…and anyways i am yet to see a dumb kid…so …
    this tag of “Nomal” kid or people amuses me often cos is there a human who can do every thing, has there ever been such a human who has not stumbled…
    To me disability was and always will be not willing to try or do..

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 22, 2012 at 9:28 am

      The old saying of, “You only can’t when you quit.” is, perhaps, more valid than anyone knows. I had forgotten about your daughter’s autism; shows how important I rate it as a “disability”. She is alive and, if she is part of your family, then happy. What more, truly, is there than to be happy and part of a family? Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

Blog Me This....

A few of my random thoughts from my journey

Life lessons

This site is all about enlightenment

UpLift Girl

...a girl's guide to navigating the crazy journey of life and faith.

The Step Back

Accepted wisdom is an oxymoron. Challenge your assumptions.

Jellico's Stationhouse

Come on in and sit a while...

priorhouse blog

Photos, art - and a little bit of LIT.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

