Walking, Running, Shuffling through Life

I managed to survive my 2nd day in the 5K walk.Today, Tuesday, I managed to put in 6 blocks. That was awesome, for me. My feet hurt and I was worn down, but to know that, 2 days in, I was 1 block shy of 1/2 way made me feel great!

I was never truly into running for physical exercise. I did walk; I played volleyball religiously for a couple of years; I played golf for a long time. However, I was, mostly, one of those people who “shuffled” through life.

I moved from thing to thing, enjoyed it for a bit (or not), and moved on. I never really settled down long enough to see if that was a real keeper or not. It’s not that I didn’t have things I had done for a long time; I just got bored easily.

I got bored easily.

Now, I know some of that to be ADD, gone, for the most part, because of my stroke. I do settle in and enjoy things now. I can sit and wait on something several times longer than before. The other side to that is that, if I get upset at something, I don’t put off telling people very well. I am having to get used to this new part of my personality. I think I like it (I don’t feel stressed as often or as deeply), but time will tell.

How do you get through the twists and turns of life?

I think the approach above to exercise might be a valid analogy to life. Are you a walker, a runner, or a shuffler? Do you stroll through life, enjoying each minute, stopping to “smell the roses”, and noticing what life has to offer? Do you run full gallop through life with only the final goal in mind? Or do you shuffle along never even getting to the goals you have decided you want?

I don’t know if others are like me, but I switched back and forth between running and shuffling throughout my life. There were times when I was moving so fast that, if I tripped (did often), I came crashing down and had to start nearly over. There were other times when I procrastinated and moved so slowly that the end of the tunnel seemed to be at the opposite side of the world.

Since the stroke, I believe I have gotten into a more walking-like routine. I do things and get them done; I make plans and try hard to follow them through; I am enjoying life because I do stop when I feel like it, knowing I will get back up and walk forward soon.

Think about how you approach your paths in life…
Runner, Shuffler, or Walker?

Think about your life and how you approach it.
Namaste,
Scott

Life
by Scott L Vannatter – 4/25/2012

Running past the obstacles
Hurrying along the way
The beautiful becomes the things you trip on
Life appears unforgiving, short

Shuffling down the path of existence
Causes things to remain well past their time
Boredom steps in and moves creativity out
Life becomes a stagnant pool of indecision.

Ah, but walking through the intertwined paths
Stopping to smell, to see, to think
All this allows the full life to be led, the adventures lived
And life, flows smoothly, and seems so like a stream.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • southernhon  On April 25, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    I also get bored very easily. I have to have uptempo music playing when I’m walking for exercise.
    I think it’s great that you’re beginning this regime.
    Oh, to answer the question, I’m definitely a “runner.”

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 25, 2012 at 8:17 pm

      I think it helps if you are honest enough to know and admit what you truly are. I don’t consider any of them “bad”, simply more or less effective, depending on what you want out of life. I want to notice it all now, but still accomplish things, so “walking” is best for me. Scott

      Like

  • Aspergers Girls  On April 25, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    I have learned to slow down my body; now it is my minds turn. Exciting times ahead as I rediscover balance and follow my authentic calling. I like this post very much. Proud of you for walking. I am starting to walk again more often, after 2 months of extreme fatigue. Thanks for your thoughts. 🙂 Sam

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 25, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      Good for you. Share your experiences on your post. I would love to see it. We will learn to walk (and hurt) together! I have a bit more energy now. I think the walking certainly helps. Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Free to express

thoughts, experiences, travel, feelings, stories, diaries and many more...

The Subjective Herald

"If audacity had a viewpoint —and a column—"

Girl Boner

Where Good Girls Go For Sexual Empowerment

Happiness Between Tails by da-AL

Arts + Cooking + Dancing + Joy + Writing + Tales + Tails

Nyssa's Hobbit Hole

Diary, Opinions, Passions, Fiction, Memoir

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

