A Day in the Life of…

Did manage 5 blocks today. Only 5 left with 2 days to go! I am slightly hyped. It looks as if I will make it, weather permitting!
_____________________________

What does this have to do with putting in a long day?
Nothing…absolutely nothing…but it’s a great picture, don’t you think?

I have put in a long day.

I started it late (blame that on my sense of deciding it’s okay to stay up really late if you can sleep in); I will regret that tonight since I have to get up earlier tomorrow. However, what’s done is done.

I have put in a long day today.

I did my usual morning stuff – meds, breakfast, email, blog reads. Then I began putting in my turn on the “words with friends” games I play on Facebook (I love Scrabble and always have). This took much longer than I thought and, interestingly enough, since I took my night meds late, they hadn’t worn off and I, promptly, fell asleep at my computer for about 45 minutes. When I woke up, I swept the 2 non-carpeted rooms, mopped them, did up the trash and laundry into bags and baskets, and sat for a bit. I had supper (pancake and eggs!), cleaned up, walked .5 miles (yeah!), then swept the 3 carpeted rooms of the house.

I didn’t want to tell the world; I just am happy I am improving.

Now, here I am. Why do I tell you all of this? I truly wanted to do just a bit of bragging. Not because that amount of work is really something, for most. No, it’s because in 10 days I will be celebrating my 2nd year since my stroke. I have done a great deal in these past two years, but today I outdid myself in effort and sticking to it.

I don’t want praise or congratulations. I simply want to make a statement to those I know are out there who think they can’t do anything. I can tell you that everything I did today (including the nap) hurt somewhere in my body.

It is a great effort to stay standing, let alone mop and sweep and vacuum. It is a great effort to walk to the front door, let alone half a mile. And it is a great change in me, personally, to simply make the choice to do several things and then do them.

I still have two small things left to do before I drop to sleep. But, whether or not I get those two things done, I will have accomplished a lot today. I want you to understand that, not too long ago, I could decide to do something and then simply not get up to do it. I forget what the psychologist called this, but, often, after a stroke the victim cannot get his body to follow his intentions because his mind simply will not send the order. I am told it is not laziness in this case, it is a near impossibility. I have, finally, overcome this problem for the most part. It still happens on occasion.

I also have times when I procrastinate for just a moment and, hours later, realize I never did it; I forgot totally for that period of time. Yes, things are changing.

Normal? This is now normal for me.

Will I get back to normal? No, but I am feeling more and more positive about the new me and how I will cope with my new world.

Don’t give up – Keep on keeping on. Don’t let people bully you into doing too much and don’ t let them criticize you into doing less than you can.
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aspergers Girls  On April 28, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    Inspiring post. Needed those words today. I had great fatigue today. A couch day! But I know another day will be soon. Thank you for your words and a peek into your world. šŸ™‚ Congrats on the 2 year date! Yeah! Love how you keep it positive. šŸ™‚ Sam

    Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On April 27, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    wow Scott this is reallly a very inspiring post.not just for those who think they can’t but also those who won’t give it a try no matter what.
    after all that house work and the effect of meds..you managed to find time out to walk and this time 5 block..this really is commendable..And i am not saying this cos you are my friend but cos i have seen really healthy people slothing through out their life not trying or giving their capabilities a chance….
    I really hope people read this post and get as inspired as I am now
    wish you a wonderful weekend šŸ™‚

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 28, 2012 at 12:23 am

      Your words inspire me to try even harder. It’s good to know that what I do can positively affect others. You are a wonderful person. I am so glad I have met you. Scott

      Like

  • Moiz Billah  On April 27, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    You are living life-more than can be said of many of us!

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 28, 2012 at 8:32 am

      Oh yes, and I wasn’t always living life! The stroke was a God-send, quite literally, and while I would rather be totally healthy and normal, this life is pleasant; that is worth its weight in gold.
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

J.M. Williams

A home for all things fantasy and sci-fi.

mrgoodquote

All that you need is here ! šŸ˜‰

Making it write

mostly poetry, partly peculiar.

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

