Up, Up, and Away!

I was trying to figure out what to write on today.It has not been a wonderful day (not complaining, just stating) and I wasn’t sure if I was up to the task of a post.  The weather was poor (raining / cold) and I didn’t get to walk any, so tomorrow, last day, I will have to put in 5 blocks – I am praying for clear weather.

I was reading the post of “Adventure-mum” (read it; it is good) and decided that a couple of plane trip experiences might be good. I enjoy flying. The problem is not normally the plane, but getting on the plane.

Now, I did have problems once when flying to DC and I got horribly sick from all the movement and shaking in the last 15 minutes of the flight and landing. When we were leaving, I heard that the co-pilot needed some hours of flying in, so he was doing the flying instead of our captain. Yeah, well, let’s not discuss whether I agree with that decision or not!

The last time I flew, we had to remove our shoes, and when I walked through the security check, I could see the woman x-raying carry on calling to security to come and check my bag. As it turned out, I had a spare camera battery (black and square) in my carry on; it looked on x-ray like a bomb part, so I had to sit for about 40 minutes while they checked it with some type of powder and then allowed me to go. I had not had a massage. -smile-
However, the absolute worst was the time I had to fly out about 7:30, so I arrived at 5am in the Indianapolis International Airport. I went to my desk and no one was there yet (opened at 7, I think)m so I sat down. A bit later a man came running up, sat his suitcase down next to me and said, “Watch this for me; I will be right back!” and ran off. Of course, the announcement speakers are continually telling passengers not to watch someone else’s bag for any reason. I sat there looking at the bag.

Had I truly thought much I would have run all the way to the other end and told someone about it. Not sure why, but I just sat there. A few minutes later, a security person walked by, saw the bag, and asked if it was mine. I said, “No, a man left it here and then ran off.” Well, that was the magic word! The security man was on his radio and ran off (I still should’ve walked to the other end!) and two of them came running back a bit later to ask me which direction he went. I pointed. It was a few minutes later that they came with him, picked up the bag, and left. Apparently, not a bomb, but I still would not have wanted to be him for the world.

Now I have complained enough. Let me end on a good note. One of the fantastic things about planes happened to me on my first flight (going to London, I believe). I had a window seat and was mesmerized by the clouds we were flying above. However, that was nothing compared to the sunrise that next morning! It left me speechless. I still love flying. I hope I get to at some point down the road. My son lives in Oregon; there’s a thought.
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Soma Mukherjee  On April 28, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    Ouch the experiences..Scott i never enjoy flying and chose travelling in trains but the times are such i have to ..and it sucks..I have motion sickness and this makes flying real bad experience,add to it the rubbish they serve on planes.
    This one time i was flying to Australia..and the weather was so bad i puked the entire route…
    But nothing can beat that experience you had when the man left his bag..thank god he came back for it..
    Whatever the weather you have this sushine in your heart that inspires you to write such interesting posts 🙂
    Hope you get a good weather tomorrow 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 29, 2012 at 9:38 am

      Weather outside today is cool and wet, but I think I will get my walk in.
      Australia! One of the places on my list of places to visit someday (Perhaps).
      I am envious that you went, but sorry about the trip.
      I do not throw up; it is nearly impossible for me to do it.
      However, the feeling is sometimes there. Miserable!
      I am happy you liked the post. As said before, no matter how many people follow and like, you and Sam got me started; it is important to me how you two feel about it.
      Scott

      Like

  • Aspergers Girls  On April 28, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Wow. You have some airport experiences! The bag one was super interesting. Did the guy come back to get his bag? Was there anything in it? That’s what I would have been wondering. Oregon…that’s near me. Have a great Sunday. Sam 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 29, 2012 at 12:00 am

      I did realize that Oregon is not that far from you. If I get to go out there, have time, and some extra $, I would love to visit you if that works. It will be awhile, anyway. The gentleman with the bag came back because security brought him! No, nothing in the bag; he was just in a hurry…thank goodness.
      Scott

      Like

  • magsx2  On April 28, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Hi,
    Sounds like you have had some bad luck with flying, but still it is the best way to travel if going on a trip, even if you are staying within your own country, the time saved in travel gives you that extra time while on your break. 🙂

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Free to express

thoughts, experiences, travel, feelings, stories, diaries and many more...

The Subjective Herald

"If audacity had a viewpoint —and a column—"

Girl Boner

Where Good Girls Go For Sexual Empowerment

Happiness Between Tails by da-AL

Arts + Cooking + Dancing + Joy + Writing + Tales + Tails

Nyssa's Hobbit Hole

Diary, Opinions, Passions, Fiction, Memoir

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

