Blame, Faith, and Power

Well, it has come to the usual.

Blame!!!

It is Friday night; I am giving the message at church on Sunday (minister on vacation). I know it’s Mother’s Day, but I am not doing it on mothers. I have already sent the title in as “Blame, Faith, and Power”.

I had an idea quite some time ago and decided to run with that. However, I also decided that, since I know I won’t write it until tomorrow evening, why not get some ideas from all my new Blog friends? That’s YOU!

It doesn’t have to align directly along religion; they are used to that from me!

Here’s the basis: My firm belief is that we allow blame to keep us stuck in places. You blame yourself and never get anywhere; you blame others and you give away all your power.

As I said in an earlier post, even blaming God takes away from your power as you can’t do anything that you blame on someone else (you relinquish your responsibilities). In order to be all that you are, you also have to stand up and take the blame for everything in your life. You made choices; where you are now is the result of all those choices and the consequences from them.

What I would like to hear are other statements, stories, whatever that could help work that point or point out something else if you so choose.

Don’t just agree or disagree with me this time; say what you want. Make it long if you feel inspired.  Do it anonymously if you want. I just want to hear from people I think are in the upper crust of intelligence (that would be all of you!).

So shout it out!

shout
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • jmmcdowell  On May 12, 2012 at 9:37 am

    I can’t think of any helpful examples, but I do believe that many of our current problems have a common base in the refusal to accept responsibility for the consequences of our actions. The housing and banking meltdown and industry failures (e.g., automotive) resulted in no one really being held accountable. And they received “get out of jail free cards” with the bailout packages. Why should the ordinary man or woman or child on the street be personally accountable then? And yet business and the government insist we should be. I wish they would practice what they preach!

    But I do believe society would be better if we all owned up to our mistakes and took responsibility for our actions, especially when the consequences caused hurt or damage.

    Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On May 12, 2012 at 1:25 am

    Oh loved the topic and how you handled it Scott 🙂
    Its so true in putting the blame on others we are suggesting others have total control of our actions that others have the power to influence our lives..in blaming God we are blaming ourselves cos that is where God lives.in our work and in our faith…
    How ironical that we adults keep telling kids if you have done something wrong admit it but we ourselves are always looking for excuses or names to put the blame on…
    Its always somebody elses fault….
    and once i told this colleague of mine if its never your fault then you must be super woman in that case how come someone else destroyed your work…what happened to your powers
    loved the topic,
    Wish you all the best
    Do post how it went 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 12, 2012 at 9:58 am

      Thank you and your comment was just what I was looking for. I see a couple of things to add to my message.
      I may post the results to that others can read, even if it’s a separate post for the day.
      Scott

      Like

  • Genie  On May 11, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    I wrote a blog post on this topic earlier this month, called it the Blame Game: http://geniespeaks.wordpress.com/?s=blame+game

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 12, 2012 at 12:47 am

      Thank you. It is late, but I will read it in the morning or evening while trying to work on the message.
      Looks good!
      Scott

      Like

Trackbacks

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

