Priorities

I don’t often try to explain my poetry.  I would prefer that you do that.

However, I will say here that the idea came to me after I had seen my views drop for 3 days and realized that I had let my blog slip a few places in importance.  – I hope to not do that again!  You are all a big part of my life now.

Scott

Priorities
by Scott L Vannatter
5/16/2012

I sit, melancholy, in my chair
the brightness of the screen glares,
telling me that I have a message,
that it is my turn, that someone has noticed.

With a press, the scenery changes,
I can answer that someone far away,
I can take my next turn, I can acknowledge someone.

Tying your hopes, your dreams, your life
in part to the zipping atomic particles
that endow the wire and plastic with almost sentience
is a, surprisingly, lonely thing.

You begin with such hopes, searching everywhere,
joining groups, games, parties, blogs,
following myriads of people across the globe
looking into their lives, their hearts, their souls.

Then, the fullness rushes in,
You become strangled by the sheer weight of numbers.
One by one, two by two, they, the important, slip your grasp,
and you find yourself alone again, staring at an empty box.


Choose the important one, write a poem, post it, and sit back,
Sweat beads, hands shake, questions asked,
“Did I lose my friends?”
Numbers rise, your sigh deepens, the connection remade.

Glad to have you around,
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • magsx2  On May 16, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    Hi,
    I loved your poem, very nicely written. The blogosphere is a great place I feel to meet people from all around the world. I have found the best way to meet other bloggers is to just look at the comments on another blog, and if you happen to like a couple of the comments, just click onto their name, and if you like their blog, leave a comment. That is how I found you. 😀

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 16, 2012 at 8:40 pm

      I agree whole-heartedly. That is how I found you – You looked at my blog and I looked at who looked at my blog! lol In all seriousness, the blogging world is huge and there is something/someone out there for everyone to enjoy. I get to take in all my enjoyments – music, photos, art, poetry, all of it by just following enough people and keeping up with them. I count you as a friend, though we haven’t actually met. It’s a great thing!
      Scott

      Like

      • magsx2  On May 16, 2012 at 8:44 pm

        Thank You. 🙂
        You also are a blogging friend, and I do enjoy reading your posts.

        Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On May 16, 2012 at 11:01 am

    ha ha ha those two images just made me laugh out loud…
    what a lovely poem on a bloggers thoughts..
    Oh Scott this is such a fabulous poem and I think almost every one would be able to relate to it, ususally i am more nervous before i press that publish button
    Great write up 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 16, 2012 at 8:43 pm

      With people like you responding to my blogs, how I can I be very nervous? I think about what I have written, consider it on faith that someone out there needs to hear what I am saying, and I hit that button. Usually, I have to “update” once after that, but oh, well…
      Glad you liked the poems / imaging.
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

