A Late Start

I need to apologize.

I have made it my pattern to post a new post every night around 10PM. Now, here it is, 11:24AM on Sunday, and I am just now posting.

This has been a long week. Even I have to admit that. My Dad has had a long day, every day, since Monday, until today. Two sessions of dialysis, a day of doctors’ visits, a surgery, and dialysis at the hospital yesterday before coming home. I guess I should say he has had a long day; however, it has been long on all of us. My mom deals with it all the time; I am there for the transporting and waiting. It must be said, however, that I see that I have a busy life, also.

Maybe not, but it feels like it!

Maybe not, but it feels like it!

It’s hard to imagine that when I used to be running to and from work, to and from children’s activities, working on the home, mowing grass, and trying to go to school, that I would now be busy.

It would seem that by the kids moving out, being divorced, and having to leave my job, that things would, inevitably, slow down.

I am not sure what type of dream world I came from, but humans seem to have this knack for filling up their time with…something. For me, it was, mainly, the fact that everything takes about 30% longer for me to do.

I have to watch my balance, my peripheral vision, my hand coordination, and decide if I am thinking properly all the time. You would reach beside yourself and pick up that cup of coffee. Me? I have to remember to turn my head, focus on the cup, watch my hand go there, and then concentrate on picking it up, remembering what I was going to do with it, then do that without spilling or, OMG, dropping it. It has made things much different.

Besides that, I have taken on this blog, reading about 8-10 others on a regular basis, playing “words with friends” on Facebook (of course, me, I enjoy a lot of it, so 18 games at a time 🙂 ), dealing with Dad’s dialysis, and, in my spare time now, I get to be an 18th level Balance/Life Wizard in my new game. Do I sound like I don’t love it? No, except for Dad needing dialysis, I love it all!

What happened now though is that I, finally, overdid it. The reason you aren’t getting this post till now is because I did not get up until 11:05AM today. That’s always been difficult for me since the stroke cuz I don’t sleep well and my legs are usually hurting after about 6 hours, so I don’t do good at all after that. But, I hit that wall; I fell off that bridge; whatever you want to call it; I woke up after 5-6 solid hours of sleep, then reset the alarm 2 and, almost, slept through the second one. Also, note, that, if I sleep too long, I take a chance my blood sugar will drop too low and I will be nauseous, dizzy, and sweating until I get some carbs in me.

Back to it all. That was not all said to evoke pity. It was said because I realized that I have come full circle and, once again, filled my days. It’s a more enjoyable fill this time, but a fill, nonetheless, it is. People are like that; most people cannot stand to simply sit and relax; they have to be moving, doing something.

I realize that it’s one of my Dad’s problems. He has to lie on that chair and get dialysis for four hours three times a week. He cannot sit still for four minutes. I would not like it, but I could read, play games on my Kindle, or just daydream (the stroke made that more difficult, but not impossible).

People’s burdens are different; all of us are different.

You can't walk in someone else's shoes: you are you!

You can’t walk in someone else’s shoes: you are you!

Next time, before you make that comment of, “I don’t see why that bothers you so much,” remember, NO, you don’t know why that bothers them so much.

I am certain that the mountain climber cannot understand my, almost, lifelong fear of anything over about 8 feet. But, I only partially understand why he can’t tell about his adventures to a dozen 16 year olds in school.

It’s not particularly helpful to ask someone to “walk in the other person’s shoes”; they can’t; but, just know that “it’s different” and try for that shot of “there are things difficult for me”. I bet it helps you help both them and yourself.
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • susielindau  On May 20, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    Getting through your daily life sounds exhausting and stressful when I take into account how you take care of your dad as well. I am glad that you have found the blogging world so supportive as I have. 🙂

    Personally I can only keep up by blogging 2-3 times a week. I don’t know how you do it every day!

    Just a thought, but if you are looking for more followers, I would cut back on your posts. Readers are more likely to follow people who don’t post every day. I follow about 120 people, so I can’t imagine what I would do if they all blogged every day! I wouldn’t be able to read all of them and that would stress me out!

    Excellent post!

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 20, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      I agree, but have read that you should post every day so people will depend on that. For now, I will keep it up.
      It is good to know that, if I truly needed a change, I could do 2-3 a week and people would still follow, perhaps, as you say, maybe more! It is also so therapeutic for me to say something each day. Finally, I know that there is a tendency, on my part, to let something go if I don’t make it a strong, strong habit. Perhaps, that is the most important reason!
      I have also learned that, if I can’t keep up with my other bloggers on a day to day, it’s okay. I have my mail that says “[New post]” in the subject filed into a “New Post” file in Windows Mail. I will catch up when I can.
      Scott

      Like

  • magsx2  On May 20, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    Hi,
    I think it’s great that you didn’t get up till late, you just can’t beat a good sleep I don’t think. 🙂
    I totally agree, no one can walk in someone else’s shoes it just isn’t possible, we are all different in our own way which is a blessing, it would be a boring world if we were all the same.

    I love the pictures you have chosen, but the last one with the little boy in the big shoes is priceless. 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 20, 2012 at 3:35 pm

      Glad you like the picture! I enjoy picking those out for the readers. Feedback always makes the next one easier.
      And, yes, a good sleep cannot be beat. I needed it and, for once in a long while, it happened! I don’t regret it; I just wanted you all to know the why of it. 🙂
      Scott

      Like

  • jmmcdowell  On May 20, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    None of us can do it all, and we can’t do it all alone. Sometimes, we have to step back, breathe, and take a break. Your body was probably telling you that this morning.

    So be sure to take care of yourself as you help your father. And we all understand if you miss your regular blogging schedule. I don’t think any blogger can always meet it. 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 20, 2012 at 3:27 pm

      Thanks so much. Very good and needed words coming from someone I admire.
      I will watch. Sometimes, I am my own worst enemy.
      Too much to enjoy, so little time.
      Scott

      Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On May 20, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Wow you are dealing with your life so bravey….no its not a sympathy or anything..its just that when i read you it inspires me too..
    In a way Blog gives me that boost i so need to run my eery day life
    Thanks for sharing your story..and so agree with you until you are in some one elses shoes you will never really know his fears and his hurdles
    Hugs 🙂

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

