Big Questions – Big Answers!

Well, it has been a little over 24 hours and the comments are in! There were 4 questions to be answered! I enjoyed them all.
Questions:
1) Where would you like your writing to be in five years?
(from jmmcdowell)
2) How many different places have you lived in? Have you ever lived or worked in a different country? If not, would you have liked to? If yes what sort of work did you do in other country’s?
(from magsx2 )
3) What is your favorite animal? Why? What animal represents you the most? Why? What pet did you always want…..
(from Aspergers Girls)
4) what was the toughest part of your recovery, what made you keep going?
(from buckwheatsrisk)
Well, in that order:


1) In five years, I would like my writing to be polished and published. I would also like to be making some money at it. My original goal was to publish for Kindle on Amazon, but, due to some financial considerations, that has not be made possible yet. So, I settled for writing short stories, mostly horror (it was very well requested online). I could control the funds a bit better and less of some other things. Anyway, I started off and wrote flash (exactly 100 word) stories for http://www.microhorror.com in a contest. Winners would be published in their anthology. I did not win, but did write 5 that are listed on their site. I submitted several to different online publishers. I received my first acceptance to a second review this past week and will know if the story is to be published on June 10th. Either way I am happy (that is one step closer) and will tell you all. But getting back to the question, in five years, I would like to, at least , have written 2 novels (I have the ideas just need to commit hard and do it. It’s difficult as my attention spans leaves and I don’t do things), and have published several short stories in both sci-fi and horror. Several means enough that I can say, “I am a published author who is known a bit in the genre.” I would also want to have put together a collection of my poetry, whether or not I have published them.

2)  I have lived in many different places, all in Indiana.  I have settled in Middletown, Fortville, Indianapolis, Carmel, Noblesville, and Beech Grove. I can’t say where I have enjoyed the most as all have had their good and bad points.  Currently, I am in my first owned home in Middletown.  I have never lived outside of the United States, but, honestly, if I were to, I believe I would enjoy either Canada or Australia.  I enjoy the cooler weather of Canada, but have always thought Australia to be a wonderful place (except for the deadly snakes, spiders, and jellyfish, of course).   The work I have done over the years has ranged from general security to computers to teaching.  I believe if  I were to be in another country I would have wanted to teach.  Right now, of course, being disabled, working would be very different.

3)  My favorite animals have always been cats.  I grew up with cats, loved how they felt, and really thought I was on a bit of a level with them.  I liked to watch them sneak about and be so silent.  I admire them for most of these things and that is why I, usually, play a thief in the online/computer games when I can.  I think that also covers the other questions asked here.  I think a cat represents me a lot.  I enjoy quiet, and moving around quietly.  Cats are also very neat.  I am not so neat, but do identify with them on that note.  I have always wanted a cat of my own and Tamika has been with me for 8 years in two weeks.

4)  Before I get to the question, I need to catch a few people up on this.  Two years ago, I had a hemorrhagic stroke.  This is the less common type of stroke but the most fatal.  This happens when a vessel bursts, not clots, in the brain.  Blood is sprayed on the brain in the surrounding area.   Brain cells are destroyed wherever blood touches the surface.  I was spared; I believe for a reason.  Back to the question:  the toughest part of my recovery was when I knew I would not be able to continue teaching.  I had worked for many years to become a teacher and 5 and 1/2 years did not seem adequate for the time spent.  Since then, I realize I made a big difference in a lot of my students’ lives and made a decent impact on co-workers and others I met while teaching.  It affected me greatly and always will.  The second part of “what made me keep going” embeds itself more in the spiritual than any other part of my life.  I kept going because, after the stroke, I knew, absolutely knew, that not only did God exist, but that He and I could work together to accomplish some wonderful things.  My life was not wasted, nor was it over.  Instead, it was a new beginning and, without the stroke, this blog would never have become a reality.  I now see God in so much of life that I cannot deny His existence or his effects on all of our lives.  That’s what keeps me going.

In a nutshell, you have it!  They are answered and I will say to you all that you were very kind in your questions.  I truly expected some questions that were, um, more personal in nature.  Perhaps, that’s because I taught middle school.  Their questions would have been so different!  You were all good sports.

Now, I will close with this:  I would like to know one more thing.  Down the road, I know that I enjoyed this enough to do it again and open myself up to whatever.  Was it interesting?  Is it worth repeating?  Inquiring minds need to know! 🙂

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • buckwheatsrisk  On May 26, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    so something good came out of something bad 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 26, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      Oh yes, one of the benchmarks of both my blog and my life.
      “Everything works out in the end; if it hasn’t worked out, it isn’t the end.”
      Scott

      Like

  • jmmcdowell  On May 25, 2012 at 8:31 am

    This is an interesting way to get to know a fellow blogger! And in that spirit, here’s where I would like my writing to be in 5 years.

    Like you, I want to have published works. This would be at least my first two novels, whether traditionally or electronicall published. I hope there will be at least one more. I’d like to have some backstories for the books available on a website/blog combination where any fans of the books can learn more about the characters. I might also put together collections of short stories for the main books. They might deal with the characters when they were younger, or “side events” of their current day.

    Great post idea! 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 25, 2012 at 4:45 pm

      Thanks. Perhaps, I can work on an Award in which you send nominations for 3-4 blogs and the blog users follow this format for questions. The “Ask me anything” award.

      Like

  • magsx2  On May 25, 2012 at 2:47 am

    Hi,
    Great questions asked, and very good replies as well, I did enjoy reading the post, and I think you should do it again. 😀
    A lot of Australia does get very hot in summer, nice and cool at the moment because we are in Autumn and our Winter starts on the 1st of June. 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 25, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      Great! Am thinking about creating an award that nominees would do something similar to what I have done.
      Thanks,
      Scott

      Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On May 25, 2012 at 1:30 am

    loved the questions and your replies
    very interesting post..please do repeat it

    Like

  • Aspergers Girls  On May 25, 2012 at 1:10 am

    super fun to read :))) Did you live in Carmel, CA — I’m from that area. :)))

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 25, 2012 at 1:22 am

      Only in Indiana. I was born a Hoosier and have always been one! Don’t care a lot for basketball…what’s with that?
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

