Interesting Thought

It’s certainly not a new idea, nor one that hasn’t been done in books, movies, and so forth: What happens when someone shy and quiet becomes “special”? There are a lot of answers to that one.

*This is not a movie review.  I watch movies and used them to illustrate my point.  You don’t have to watch the trailers; just get the idea and go with it!

Now, first, don’t get  all weirded out  on me:  I have never read nor seen “Pygmalion”.  I know, MA in English, taught it several years; however, never was introduced to it; have heard of it; now, I can guess what it is by the movies that have been made from updates.  So, I won’t go there with it.

1) She’s All That – really good movie.  It deals with the basic idea that a jock turns a nobody into a prom queen and all the problems that come from that.  Besides, it has one of my favorite songs in it “Kiss Me” by Sixpence None the Richer (Be quiet, I like that stuff).

2) Never Been Kissed – Drew Barrymore (whom I like in several movies) as a nobody who goes back to high school undercover and becomes somebody.

3) Ever After (A Cinderella Story) – Again with Drew, but this has to be my favorite of her movies.  I really like the Cinderella tale (you know me and underdogs – see post).  This one is a little different (read that as “believable”) and it is simply an endearing movie.

4) Spiderman – Big turnaround from 1-3, but same idea:  Peter Parker, nobody, becomes my favorite superhero when he gets bit by a radioactive spider.  The line mentioned in another place I saw today was, I believe Parker’s Uncle Ben saying, “With great power comes great responsibility”.  How true.

This one has a bit of language and violence PG-13, but they pushed it some,

5) Chronicle – This was the whole reason for this post.  I watched this today and, while I probably won’t watch it a second time, it does present the dark side of this idea very well.  A nobody, shy and quiet, gains special abilities and they don’t go very well.  Bringing me to the idea for this blog.

What is the meaning of “special”, first of all?  Most of the movies above deal with more super human powers or stations in life.  Can special simply mean, eyes become opened?

I was quiet and shy, backward and fearful.  Now, life threw a lot at me (I needed it to grow) and the final stroke (if you will pardon the pun) opened my eyes to a lot of things.  I am totally different.  A friend told me yesterday that I wasn’t; however, she isn’t around me a lot and said that I must be talking about people who are with me all the time who say they have noticed.  I agree.

What I do know is the change is noticeable to me and that has made a huge difference in the way I live life.

Now, we can go on and ask “what does happen when someone becomes special?”.

How do you see it?

What makes the difference in whether the person becomes lighter or “goes to the dark side”?

What are all the factors involved?

This is an interactive blog; I want your thoughts and your answers!  Any real life examples out there?  Don’t give out people’s private matters, but general examples or “unnamed” examples can work.

Let me hear you roar!

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Soma Mukherjee  On May 28, 2012 at 2:50 am

    oh that is one hell of a question…what to do if someone becomes special,or all of a sudden you realise that person means more to you than just a ‘friend”..
    oh its scary and kind of lovely both…if you are free to get involved i dont see any reason why you shouldnt take that chance
    and if you are already in a relationship and have this new found admiration or attraction for someone else then all i can say is to each his own…….whatever that person feels is right for him but in long run there will be a lot of hurt
    however love i believe should make you feel good not tensed or depressed,if it is then something is not quite right…

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 28, 2012 at 10:12 am

      You brought out a new side to the question and that is just as important. Special meaning special to you, not super power special. And, I agree, if love makes you feel something not quite right, then let it go. That is your inner being speaking to you.
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

