To Someone Who is not yet Gone

Someone informed me that one of my favorite people died this year; he didn’t. He is 81 and living well as far as I know. However, because of that, I have thought about him and his effects on my life thus far.

People do blogs for rock singers, scientists, books, and pets. I thought I would do one post on Leonard Nimoy. You know him better as “Spock” on the original “Star Trek” series and movies.

Wiki had quite a bit to say (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonard_Nimoy) so let me summarize:

Leonard Nimoy, born March 26 (my birthday!) 1931. He is an actor, director, photographer, musician, and poet. He has played in the original “Star Trek” (1966-1969). He was nominated for 3 Emmy awards, and was Spock in seven featured films. He played in the original “Mission: Impossible” series, hosted “In Search of …” and narrated “Civilization IV”, and was on stage.

He wrote two autobiographies “I am Spock” and “I am not Spock”.

Backing up, he was born in Boston to Jewish immigrants from Soviet Union. His father was a barber and his mother was a homemaker. He started acting, neighborhood, early, but landed first role at 17. His grandfather was the one who encouraged him to be an actor (thanks, grandpa!).

He had more than 50 small parts in B movies (gotta love B movies), TV shows (Dragnet), and serials ( Republic Pictures’ Zombies of the Stratosphere (1952). He was in sci-fi thriller “Them” (I remember that) and in “Twilight Zone”, “Bonanza”, “Rawhide”, “The Outer Limits”, “Get Smart”, and a lot of others.

He and William Shatner (Captain Kirk) first played together on an episode of “The Man from U.N.C.L.E.” (Those were the days!). He and DeForest Kelley (Doctor) first played together in an episode of “The Virginian”.

He did attend college and he was the one who made the famous “Live long and prosper” sign. He did direct Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home (1986), and Three Men and a Baby, the highest grossing film of 1987, which made him a star director. He wanted to act though.

He even made it on one episode of “Saturday Night Live” (we all know that’s important!).

He even talked with Issac Asimov, who is my favorite Sci-Fi writer though he has since passed on. He also sang and spoke on several albums and even directed the Bangles video “Going Down to Liverpool” (I really like that song!).

He has been married twice, two children by the first marriage, and has stated that he was an alcoholic who did go to rehab. He tried to help William Shatner’s alcoholic wife. He also invented the famous “Vulcan Neck Pinch” as an alternative to striking a guard as Nimoy felt that would have been out of character. Shatner agreed and they talked the people into putting that in the show.

The city of Boston has November 14th as “Leonard Nimoy Day”.

You know I always have a purpose to my “musings”. Here I want to encourage you to really read the wiki link I posted at the top of the page. There is a much longer version of all I said and more in it about Leonard Nimoy. It’s not so much Mr. Spock I want to give praise to here. It is to Leonard Nimoy who, as best I see it, came from very humble beginnings and pushed himself into may different areas of life, and successfully. He had problems in both personal and relationship portions of his life; however, he pursued and did well ,overall, as a person.

I just thought that, in this world of 15 minute heroes, it might be good to see someone who spent over 60 years (more?) doing all that he could do. We need to look up to people like him for that reason. We need to see people do well, enjoy life, and still be human. I will miss him when he’s gone; I would have liked to have met him just once (probably won’t happen, but who knows?).

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Cafe  On June 7, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    I love this post and your reasons for looking up Leonard! We should all have role models like that 🙂

    Btw I just recently found out that my posts may not be showing up in my subscribers’ WordPress Readers if they had subscribed before I changed my domain name (which I did 3 weeks ago). So I am now having to send this message to every subscriber before that time if they could kindly unsubscribe & resubscribe to my blog, by just unclicking and clicking on the “Following” button at the top of my page http://www.yourdailydoseblog.com

    Thank you so much and sorry for the inconvenience!! I really appreciate your continued readership 🙂
    – Janice

    Like

  • magsx2  On June 6, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Hi,
    I used to love Star Trek, Spoke was always great in the series. 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On June 7, 2012 at 12:49 am

      Oh yes, he was the one to watch. Now, in the new one, he even gets the girl.
      She was certainly gorgeous in the new film! Anyway, have liked them all. Even liked Enterprise.
      But, I have to say that Star Trek: Voyager is my all-time favorite. I even own all the episodes to that one.
      Have watched them all twice, I believe.

      Like

  • sheevi  On June 6, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    oh..this is overwhelming.!!
    you deserve a best fan award for this now!:)

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On June 6, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      Thank you. He is one of those people I simply adore.
      I love versatility and humility and he seems to have both!
      Scott

      Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On June 6, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    may the force be with you?? bawahahaha! or is it na new na new??

    Like

Trackbacks

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

