Mr ? I don’t quite know

I did a post on Leonard Nimoy recently. It was well-received. I don’t want to get to where all of my posts fall into any type of set thing: I want you to feel the suspense as palpable (whatever the heck that really means). But, as I puzzled over the manual to setting up my new Roku device (hooks my TV to my wireless so I can watch Hulu-plus and such), I saw a tape which had been left by our local librarian for me to sell on Amazon. I had never watched it as the subject matter is of little interest to me; however, the star is.

Johnny Depp is an enigma (love that word). So, I decided to do just a bit of a post on him, enough to show that – whether you like him or not – he is an extremely versatile actor.

Ok – two things:  First, the clips are PG-13 (Be careful!) Second, if you really don’t want to watch Johnny, then read the post, skip all the clips except watch the next to the last one (Benny and Joon) – you will love that movie!

History
Johnny Depp – John Christopher “Johnny” Depp II (born June 9, 1963) born in Owensboro, KY ( I didn’t know that), has 2 children and was married to Lori Anne Allison (1983–1985).
Enough of that stuff – Here is his versatile movies, in my opinion (no particular order):
Ed Wood
Blow
John Dillinger
Sweeney Todd


Pirates of the Caribbean


21 Jump Street
A Nightmare on Elm Street
Edward Scissorhands


Platoon
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory


The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus
Alice in Wonderland
Dark Shadows


Sleepy Hollow
Rango – voice
Corpse Bride – voice
What I did find interesting is that the wiki entry did not mention one of my very favorite movies “Bennie and Joon”. It is a marvelous movie.

All in all, what I wanted most to comment here is that Johnny Depp is certainly one of the most diverse people I have ever seen on screen. He has played nearly everything from a talented special needs person to a raging, killing barber to a cartoon animal to a swashbuckling pirate captain.

Point – It is not so much a person’s movies that we should remember as it is their talent and believability that should be noted.  We should pay the same heed to people in general.  Stop looking at their “shows” and pay attention to their believability and their talents.

Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aspergers Girls  On June 9, 2012 at 6:34 pm

    fan of ourselves — what I meant to write

    Like

  • Aspergers Girls  On June 9, 2012 at 6:34 pm

    Yes fan or ourselves. Embrace gifts. Appreciate positive aspects. Great post.
    And…..He is super talented….but seriously, so drop-dead gorgeous, too. 🙂 Love him sooo much! the eyes, the hair, the talent….:) Okay. All done. he he. ~ Sissy Sam

    Like

  • magsx2  On June 9, 2012 at 3:08 am

    Hi,
    I’m not a huge fan, but he is a very good actor and seems to be able to play just about any role, not a lot of actors can achieve that.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On June 9, 2012 at 7:47 am

      My point exactly, and I feel we should look at people the same way. All are special and unique in some way and most can play “a lot of roles”. This includes ourselves. We need to be a fan of ourselves.

      Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On June 8, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    i love the Depp!

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

