Where Do They Go?

I went to check on one of my “regulars” – one of those people who I hear from frequently on my blog.

I put my cursor over her face and it didn’t give me a blow up of her avatar. I then clicked on the avatar and got a page stating that her profile had been deleted. I was saddened, very saddened. I didn’t know this person very well, yet. I have never met her nor talked to her. However, we had shared words and thoughts and there was a type of bond there. She had made her presence known to me well enough that I noticed her absence.

I had another friend who passed away over a year ago. She went to my church and I spoke to her most Sundays. We were light-hearted friends. Her daughter and I were friends. Her daughter was killed in a head-on collision on a night when she would have been coming to my house. Her mother died, I believe, it was shortly after.

Thing was – her mother’s profile was still on FB – still is. I have thought about this off and on over the years. We have people we write to, blog to, put out FB thoughts to, and so on. But we are not attached enough to them, most of the time, to know if something serious has happened if they stop, suddenly, from doing what they normally do on the Net.

I have a friend I have been writing for almost 8 years. We’ve never met, hope to someday. But, if something happened to her, I don’t know if I ever would know of it. I would be left wondering what happened to my good friend.

I have decided that it would be nice if the online places – FB, Yahoo, Email, Twitter, so on, should have an option that, when you close your account, you could put one line saying why you have closed the account and that would display for, say, a week whenever your account was accessed for the reception of an email or such.

I know that is not very practical. I was a programmer; I worked on space conservation in computer storage. I said, “nice” not practical. It would be nice to know what happened and not some computer-generated line saying the account has been deleted.

To my friend – if you are out there reading this from another account or anonymously, there is a public email associated with my profile. I would love to know what happened. And, don’t worry, all I would ever say on here is “she’s fine..”


Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aspergers Girls  On June 12, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    I think about that sometimes. I’ve made so many wonderful friends online, and I know, because of life, some will leave, follow different paths. I try to cherish the day, and know each is in my life for the exact time intended. Hugs to you Bro! I won’t go anywhere. 🙂 Sam

    Like

  • susielindau  On June 12, 2012 at 9:37 am

    I am worried about some of my virtual friends too.

    I have told my husband that if anything ever happens to me, he needs to go onto my accounts and post something. He has plenty of time to learn how to use the programs since we are both going to live to be 100!

    Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On June 12, 2012 at 12:24 am

    Scott i know what you were feeling/going through when you wrote this piece..This has happened here on wordpress three times with me, i was busy for a day or two and came back and found three of my blog friends gone ( at different times)
    one of them wrote a last post on how she was going to leave,but by the time i saw and clicked the mail to go to her blog,she had closed her account..
    they leave a hollow space in our hearts,and I am some one who gets attached to people quickly,I think about them often and wonder whar they are ,how and when’s…
    its a sad feeling which follows us like a shadow for a long time

    Like

  • magsx2  On June 11, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    Hi,
    It would be nice to know what has happened to people that just seem to disappear from the social network sites. I know my husband doesn’t even know my password to my blog to even let people know if something did happen, so he now knows where my password is written down, I never really thought about it all before.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On June 12, 2012 at 12:34 am

      Well, I have had it happen twice now and heard others talk of it.
      So, I thought this might be a small start to letting people know.

      Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On June 11, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    sorry for all you loss, that is so painful

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Little Mermaid

MAKING A DIFFERENCE, ONE STEP AT A TIME...

Thrifty Campers

Nature knows no such barriers

Rereading Jane Eyre

Author Luccia Gray

Euphrates.

my VOICE

ffd writes

Flash fiction, random musings from Botswana

Becoming Unstuck

Getting out of my own way

Saprogenic Storyteller

Me creating stories..my stories creating me.

www.akswrites.com

The Untold Stories

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

Natasha Musing

Of Musings, Muses & Magic

