A Song for Our Times

I was surfing around on my own computer, looking at this and that and saw a song. I listened to it, then looked up the lyrics and read them. They, like so many others, can mean different things at different times to different people. Right now, they mean hope to me for our world. Please watch, listen, and read. Then, I would love to hear your comments.

“Wonder”

Doctors have come from distant cities
Just to see me
Stand over my bed
Disbelieving what they’re seeing

They say I must be one of the wonders
Of god’s own creation
And as far as they can see they can offer
No explanation

Newspapers ask intimate questions
Want confessions
They reach into my head
To steal the glory of my story

They say I must be one of the wonders
Of god’s own creation
And as far as they can see they can offer
No explanation

O, I believe
Fate smiled and destiny
Laughed as she came to my cradle
Know this child will be able
Laughed as my body she lifted
Know this child will be gifted
With love, with patience and with faith
She’ll make her way

People see me
I’m a challenge to your balance
I’m over your heads
How I confound you and astound you
To know I must be one of the wonders
Of god’s own creation
And as far as you can see you can offer me
No explanation

O, I believe
Fate smiled and destiny
Laughed as she came to my cradle
Know this child will be able
Laughed as she came to my mother
Know this child will not suffer
Laughed as my body she lifted
Know this child will be gifted
With love, with patience and with faith
She’ll make her way
(Lyrics from http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/nataliemerchant/wonder.html)

Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Linda Stapleton de Martinez  On July 8, 2012 at 7:33 am

    Hi Scott and all,

    This is the first of your posts I have read for over a month. I was away in England and came home to be hospitalized with a terrible back prolblem, so on reading this the miracle of God’s mercy and healing was most on my mind. A week ago I could barely stand, was calling out in pain and although I knew God never left me it was a pretty miserable time.

    Yes, I had a battery of modern medicine and treatment, but it was God’s love,shown abundantly through His children and servants and presence in my heart that started to heal me and bring about a faster recovery than I ever could have hoped for. I must still be careful and continue treatment but the whole spiritual aspect of this has brought me back to basics, for the I don’t know how many times around.

    You and I have had many discussions in the past on taking care of our bodies and the weight aspect especially, but this experience has been a new wake up call that we are spiritual and physical miracles and we should not take that for granted or abuse it. My desire to bring back as many material things as possible to a country where things are expensive or in short supply, things that are useful or helpful, but not vital, led to this injury and my self-will in trying to control that to prevent going over the weight allowance had terrible consequences.

    A dear friend of mine talks about wearing life like a loose garment and I find when I am back in a culture where few seem able to do that I all too easily fall back into my old ways. I am not saying God has punished me for that but I do feel that I am needing to experience the consequences to remember what is important. My husband, family, medical team, work colleagues, friends, neighbours and especially church members showed me that Love is the most important thing and all else pales in comparison.

    Not sure that this is at all relevant to your theme, but it is what it drew out of me, dear friend.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On July 8, 2012 at 10:41 am

      What it drew out of you, dear friend, is what is most important. I have a spectrum of things I talk about, the, hopefully, unifying theme being that God is love; God works everything to good in our lives; and God believes in us. If that is what you got from my writings then it has succeeded in its intent. I have fun with my writings now, more than before, and allow myself more freedom to say what I choose and feel how I choose. I read many other blogs now that I have more time. God is showing me many things through my blog and those of others. I know we have talked about weight, about God, about ourselves in the past. We are still talking after all these years. It feels good to know that God led me to such a special friendship…(a decade ago?), we have never actually met, yet I feel such wonder hearing from you.
      Get better! You are in my prayers.
      Namaste,
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

J.M. Williams

A home for all things fantasy and sci-fi.

mrgoodquote

All that you need is here ! 😉

Making it write

mostly poetry, partly peculiar.

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

