From Laughing to Tedious

I was looking at my statistics page (mainly, because it’s fun) and I pressed the button that gives me a summary by country for the past several months.  I could not believe that 42 countries have viewed my post!  Then, I got to thinking about goals and interactive posts.  Here’s what I would like to try:

Each week or so, I will choose a country.  The object is to get one view from that country on my blog (mostly, countries who are not already there.)  Your part is huge – I will be asking you to find me that person.  Your friends, your post viewers, whoever – ask them to just view my post, and if they will comment with their name, country, and mention you, I will put both of those names in my next post (along with a link back to yours)!  Sounds like fun to me!

Okay, this week’s country is Holland (Netherlands).  Let’s go!  You have your assignment!

Today, I am going to take you on a word trek. Not just any word trek, but one that stems from my own search for meaning which ended in an hour of reading and learning (not necessarily good, though, as you will see).

_
The story is simple. I play the game “Wizard101” online and in that it is a game for people 10 years old and up, there are a lot of children. I notice all the time that when they talk (see text) through their characters (or avatars) on the screen, one of the most used phrases is “XD”. Now, I am out of touch with a lot of kids’ things now that I am not in the classroom, so I went to the “urban dictionary” to look it up.

What started out as a two-letter search became a swamp of information on laughing online. This was then followed by a selection of phrases beginning with the letter “L” from said dictionary.

I want you to learn what I did (the clean version) so here is the general progression of what I found:

XD – laughing face (also used in flirting)

Rofl – roll on floor laughing

Lol – laugh out loud

LOLZ – plural of lol

Lmbo – Laugh my butt off

Lmao – Laugh my a** off

Lawl – Sarcastic laugh

Lawlable – Something that could be laughed at

Land it in the Hudson
January 27, 2009 Urban Word of the Day
An expression used to encourage yourself or someone else when it appears an endeavor is headed for a disastrous outcome (due mostly to external conditions). Based on when Sully averted tragedy by successfully landing US Airways Flight 1549 in the Hudson River. See also, “Land it like Sully.”

Leave Britney
October 11, 2007 Urban Word of the Day
An exclamation made when your friends or family are teasing you to a point where you can’t handle it anymore and a hissy fit is in order.
Derived from a YouTube user’s famed outburst following Britney’s lackluster performance at the 2007 VMA’s.

Leave a little white
To voluntarily abstain from completely doing something completely;
as in throwing a cigarette butt away with some smokable white stick left.

Let’s just be friends
What a girl says to you when she’d rather be with an a-hole who will use her, abuse her, and eventually break her heart, even though she knows that you would never do those things to her.
When a girl says to you, “let’s just be friends”, that’s like your mom telling you, “the dog died, but you can still keep it if you want to.”

_

last texter
October 23, 2009 Urban Word of the Day
That friend that always sends you a meaningless text after the obvious end of a text conversation, just to get the last text. They do this while totally oblivious to their uncontrollable habit.

Now, you are as knowledgeable as I am on laughter and the letter “L”.
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

