My World

My Version of “My World and Welcome to It”

I don’t know how many of you have ever watched the show. It was a weekly comedy and I enjoyed it. What I think I liked was the idea that things just didn’t go well for the star and he would talk about that and it was funny. Here’s a clip:

Sam (Her blog post) wrote and I read this morning about how many problems she has and how her day goes. It impressed me that she was so honest and casual about it. She has it rough. I don’t know if my day is as rough, but I realized that it is a tough one to deal with day in and day out. I haven’t written much about me, personally, for a while, so I thought I would sort of copy Sam’s idea (hence the credit and link above) and talk a bit about my day.

My days usually start, in all actuality, the night before. I think your previous night sets up your entire next day. I am a night owl. I have, mostly, always been a night owl. Now, my counselor has mentioned that it might be better on my stroke symptoms if I went to bed earlier; however, she told me later not to worry about it and go to bed when I feel like it. I go to bed at some point between 1am and 2:30 am each morning unless I have to get up before 9:30 the next day. It just feels more comfortable to me to do that since I can. However, the stroke left me with a bit of a problem. I cannot seem to sleep more than two hours without waking up. I am using positive visualization, prayer, and an image board to work on changing this. But, for now, if I go to bed from 1:30-9:30, I wake up 3-4 times throughout the night. I don’t hit the deep (theta?) sleep cycle and so I don’t feel rested. This leads to me having to fight to get up each day.

When I do drag myself out of bed, I am supposed to do my stretches for the day. This is a self-imposed set of exercises using my belt from the stroke center. The belt is used to allow me to use my arms to help stretch my legs as they don’t have the strength to do it by themselves. I have worked the exercises down to just 5 or 6 minutes in the morning, but I don’t do them every day, as I should. What this means is that the muscles tighten up and, when I do them, it hurts because the muscles have tightened up. The causes pain, not really much more than usual, but it is there. My legs, hip, feet, and back hurt most of the time. On a scale it ranges from 2-7, usually being around a 4. The level 8s come mostly when I move my hip poorly or when the neuropathy numbness in my feet switches to acute pain for a few seconds (kind of at random – I don’t see it coming). Pain has become an old friend. I am used to him being around, but wish he would go home and eat and sleep.

Looks good! I could probably even eat it…if I would fix it.

Breakfast is a decent story. From other posts I have told you about my dietary discoveries and such. I have managed to have a breakfast most mornings consisting of 1 cup of Cheerios with ½ cup of Soy Milk and sweetener (Splenda), two pieces of low-carb white bread (toast) with very low carb grape preserves (two tablespoons on each), and a bottle of water. Oh did I forget my ten pills I take each morning? Sorry about that. After that, I still have carbs left to take. A lot of times I have small fudge bars. I love ice cream and this is close. They are small and low-carb and have fiber. I eat a lot of fiber. You can take your grams of fiber away from your grams of carbs in a meal. Most breakfasts I have about 28 grams of fiber (I pay for that later). During a normal day, I will take in anywhere from 40-60 grams of fiber and drink, at least 3 pints of water. The biggest problem with this is stomach gas. Embarrassing to talk about, however, it exists and I have to deal with it. It allows me to eat well, be regular (another fear with stroke victims is straining in the bathroom and causing another stroke), and keeps my weight down.

After breakfast, I read my email and check over stats from my blog, as well as respond to any comments and begin to think about the day’s post. The blog is the biggest part of my day. I spend about 4-6 hours a day on my post and blog-related activities. I follow about between 35-40 blogs and read whatever posts have been done. I do this several times a day. I have put filters (rules) on my email and it sorts the incoming into different categories. One of those is “New Posts”. This simply allows me to go to that folder to read the ones that have just come up. It also gives me a heads up by the number of new emails in it. I have had a few days where the number was well over 20. It’s rough to read all of those. Soma (her blog) has told me of the huge number of posts she follows and I don’t know how she does it. I have realized that 40 is that max number and after that, it may well be necessary to stop following some of the ones who just don’t write much or haven’t become good friends with me through time.

Just a “cat nap”.

Almost inevitably as I sit and do emails and read posts I fall asleep. It is, normally, 2-3 short naps of 5-10 minutes. Then, I have to decide whether to take another 2-3 short ones or get up and take a good 40-minute nap in the bed. When I begin sleeping more normally, I expect these to stop.

“watts” for lunch?

After the nap it is lunchtime. I eat weird lunch, things that may or may not go together for most other people. I suit it to effort desired and tastes wanted. Several servings of cottage cheese, a few cheddar sticks, some olives, a small bowl of chocolate ice cream, and a bottle of water would not be unusual for me. My tastes have changed with the stroke and I can eat different foods than before. I never enjoyed spicy foods before the stroke; now, I can go to an Indian restaurant and almost eat the Medium level foods and enjoy them.

The afternoon is spent between writing the new post (due at 10pm), playing “words with friends” on Facebook (a version of Scrabble which I adore), and watching a series or a movie on the computer. This is usually when time slips away from me. I will start around 1:30 and when I next look up at the clock (or, at least, pay attention to it) it will be showing 5 or 6 on it. Losing time is one of my more challenging problems from the stroke. I have trouble judging the passage of time from one event to the next. I have done something, then when it becomes eminent, I will look back to find it has been several days since I did what I thought I just did. One example is when the electric bill comes in. What I should do is write the check that minute and mail it off that day. What I find is that, sometimes, I have written the check, filled out the envelope, sealed it, and let it sit on the main table in plain sight until the day it is due. I just am not able to account for the time. I know I did things and I could, probably, tell you what I did; however, the length of time just does not seem reasonable to me.


Supper is the time when I may get out of the house. My best friend and I eat out 1-2 times a week for supper. We eat and sit and talk for about an hour. Sometimes, I get groceries after the meal. It is my time to socialize with physical people. I love all the socializing I do with people on the net. My crowd of friends is fairly large and I try to stay involved in the lives of many of them. My blog has brought me deep into the cyber world. I stay in touch through Facebook, Blog comments/replies, Email, and online news (to a point). To a lesser degree, I use Twitter and LinkIn, but to a lesser degree. Those help my blog. Other than that, I peek at what is going on and make a few comments.

I try to finish the day’s post by 3pm. It does though take longer at times. I give myself until 10pm each night to post for the next morning. Every once in a while it is 9:45pm and I still have not quite finished up the day’s work. This is when high-gear kicks in and I will pull off a tiny miracle. The post will get done.

Between 9 and 10 each night, whenever the post is finished, I will log into Wizard101 and play the online game that I enjoy so much. I have some good friends I work/play with and one person who is my good friend and partner through the last 20+ levels of play. I love these times. The game may get frustrating, but it is just a game and I use the conversation and joking with my online friends to work through that and enjoy the game. We support each other and work together to accomplish our goals and quests and move through the game.

Following the game, I check email and the blog stats once more. Then I go to bed and either drop down and try to sleep or I read for a bit. I read a lot on the Kindle and enjoy it very much. I tend to read sci-fi or horror. I know, perhaps that is part of my problem. However, I don’t dream about the stories and I don’t lay away worrying. I just fall asleep and then wake up two hours later.

So, there you have it – my usual day. Not horribly exciting, but I like most of it. The pain, the forgetfulness, and the watching my carbs and blood pressure take a lot out of me. Having to concentrate extra hard to do the things I used to do without thinking hits me pretty hard; my fatigue runs high and fast. Looking at it, I think Sam has it worse. I know I wouldn’t trade my day with her for hers, but I doubt she would want mine either.

_
Any questions just put them in the comments. I set out to tell about all my pain and, instead, I just described my entire day. Do you enjoy your days? Do you do things you like? Do you like your job? Do you like yourself? I think that has a lot to do with the rest of it. I like me. “Two roads diverged in a wood and I,” well, heck I took the one I thought would be the best for me!

Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aspergers Girls  On August 15, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    Wow…neat to see your day unfold…I eat weird lunches too…peppers, salad dressing, fruit preserves stirred with cream cheese…lol…glad I got to inspire you to share more of you. And I am generally very happy, despite my challenges…just so you know. 🙂 Hugs and love ~ Sam And because I’m like 12 in my head and spirit…I will remember that you fart a lot. LOL! hehehehe

    Like

  • susielindau  On August 12, 2012 at 11:23 am

    Okay I haven’t had breakfast yet so now I am really hungry!
    I think that you have made such an underlying point about why the blogging community is so wonderful. It connects all of us no matter what we are facing in day-to-day life!

    Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On August 12, 2012 at 12:20 am

    all i can think is i hope you don’t fall asleep at the computer while reading my blog bawahahaha!

    Like

  • lostbythesea  On August 11, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    It makes me feel a little better when I witness that we all have our bricks to carry.. With holes in our pockets, we slowly move through each Blue October moment.
    Namaste’
    K

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

