Astral Projection – the other side

Yesterday, I wrote on the up side of astral projection. I got several comments, all good and thought out. I stated in the post that I might well say why I don’t do astral projection now. I decided that I should and now, while it’s fresh in my mind.

I would really like to hear what you out there have to say about it. My own thought is that it’s safe; it is my mind that is going to these places, not my body. Physically, there should be no problems. I think I would be better if I could know while I was there that I was there.

Often, it just seems real and I go with it as if this is how it has always been. I would like to be more present conscious in the moment and be able to control it a bit more. Perhaps, all that takes is practice. Regardless, there are three incidences that turned me away from actively practicing astral projection.

1) I came back from astral projection several times to find a small “man” standing in the corner of my room by my closet. He never did anything and was gone moments later. I really feel I was awake at this time. My son thought, perhaps, he was from one of the other dimensions and was “riding” my coattails as I journeyed around. In essence, perhaps the only way he could travel was when I did.

_
2) There were a couple of times when I lay I in bed (apparently asleep, but I didn’t know this) and would look in the mirror. The reflection was brighter than the room itself and, on its own; my leg would be drawn hard toward the mirror. I knew that what would happen if I reached the mirror was that I would be drawn into it. I noticed the reflection was not always my room as it was. I would wake up. Again, talking to my son, he stated that mirrors are, normally, portals in dreams. Perhaps, my subconscious had a valid reason for me to go through the mirror. I wonder if that’s what Alice thought?

_
3) The last time I did astral projection, when I woke up, I got up to go to the bathroom. When I went to open the bedroom door, I felt that chill on my back and turned my head. I was looking into the empty dark cowl of someone. I blinked and he (it) was gone. I had to sleep with a nightlight on for about a year. The stroke, funny enough, changed me enough to let it go and sleep in the dark again.

Well, there you have it. I still don’t think it is dangerous; I merely don’t want to sleep with a light on again. Let me have your thoughts.
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • LucyJartz  On June 27, 2013 at 11:19 am

    I had some similar experiences when I was a kid, and not actually aware of what I was doing. Lots of what I encountered made me feel threatened or unsafe. Then one day I heard the plastic indian from Indian in the Cupboard say “you shouldn’t do magic you don’t understand” and it rung true to my child mind. I don’t ask for these experiences anymore, but I do allow my 5 senses to fully experience this world as much as I can while painting and it is very satisfying for me.

    Like

  • thehappyhugger  On February 12, 2013 at 5:06 am

    Very interesting, Scott. I have one dream in particular which relates in a sense.

    Like

  • Aspergers Girls  On August 21, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    My father could fall asleep. Leave the room (in spirit) go listen to a conversation in another room, wake up, and report back what he heard and saw. We’ve both had the same “person” come to us and hold us in spirit state. As I mentioned, I have flown and traveled since I was very little. I hear music, go to different worlds where things are just a bit altered, see the future (I know sounds way out there), and am told things. It’s all beyond me….I stopped trying to figure it out, and accept it as part of my journey now. The weird part is when I read about others’ experiences and they match mine. I used to see rubbery-ball like people skittering about the room, and wake up time and time again trapped and awake able to look all around, while my human eyes were closed. I hear whispers often, before I awake, telling me the exact time, when I open my eyes I look at the clock and the time is correct. I also hear poetry and verse and see vivid prose. I’m no longer scared….at least I don’t think so. When I was younger and I saw “demons” and fire, and all things scary…that freaked me out. It’s fascinating to me, now. I would overshare when younger and lose friends with my stories of what had happened. Okay..that’s enough rambling. hehehe LS

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On August 21, 2012 at 3:48 pm

      Not ramblings. I love hearing this. It also makes other things make more sense to me.
      Thanks,
      Scott – BB

      Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On August 20, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    i won’t say much but i do think it’s dangerous.

    Like

  • Rev Dani Lynn  On August 20, 2012 at 11:00 pm

    I believe astral projection is a little different from out of body. I believe with o.o.b. you’d feel something when you returned, your physical body might feel tired for example or you may feel your heart pumping a little harder than usual, and o.o.b. may have to do with our etheric body. I believe astral travel is with our astral body an isn’t necessarily experienced with the ‘heaviness’ of our etheric or physical body. Your experiences described in these two posts don’t sound like the same kind of experiences. The gentle floating down with someone may be astral (or may be someone visiting you) but the others may not. I understand your hesitation and safety questions. Being drawn hard to the mirror and then the chill on your back, thats something else. I’ve experienced things like that. And yes they’re real, but I can’t explain in what realm, or what. There is darkness out there as well as light. I’m no expert, but there’s a “place” between being awake and being asleep in which I’ve experienced both darkness and light, but I don’t know if it’s o.o.b. or astral, I just don’t know. I’ve been aware of physical contact w/ my physical body while in bed “asleep” but my consciousness wasn’t “asleep” and I felt it. I’d definately get input from people experienced in this before doing it again. Not saying this to scare you, it’s just that when we ask to have experiences, we need to know just what we’re asking for. I’ve made that mistake. But I’ve also had wonderful experiences in that in between space. — I also work with animal spirit guides and astral travel and there too have had very cool experiences and then others that have physically effected my body negatively and the small group of people I was working/playing with (while wide awake). Anyway, I guess my bottom line is that I’d suggest consulting some very experienced before doing it again. Not many people “feel” and experience what you have. Or maybe its that they don’t consciously experience it and/or remember it. ???

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On August 20, 2012 at 11:42 pm

      Sounds like good advice. Problem will be finding someone with that kind of experience who I trust now, won’t it? Thanks.
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

