The Way I See It

I watched a movie yesterday entitled, “Apocalypse”. It was, of course, about the end of the world. You know we say that, but I remember talking to my students once.

They were all bothered about the idea that we might go to war. Some of them, of course, thought that would be “cool”, but even they were worried once they realized that the winners might not be so happy either if it was a world-wide nuclear war (thanks to me).

I told them that if even a small percentage of the nukes were launched and reached their targets (or just plain went off) it would, effectively, end our lives on Earth.

*The above “clip” is almost 2 hours.  I think it is the entire movie.

We watched a movie about what could happen if Yellowstone National Park went off (that is the largest active volcano in the United States) and that it is way overdue. I told them that a nuclear war could be way worse. Then they started in about “destroying the Earth”. I simply told them that we can’t do that. They looked at me. I told them that we could wipe out life on the planet; we could make it radioactive for centuries, but that we couldn’t “destroy the Earth”. Of course, then we had to talk about what could actually “destroy the Earth”. I explained that a huge meteor strike could, perhaps, or if the moon was to break loose and strike us (I don’t think that’s likely).

I explained to them that destroying an actual planet is not the same as it having no humans on it. Take Mars or the others. They have no life, but they exist. We discussed what might happen if a large solar flare were to envelope the Earth (there was a movie on that but I can’t place the name right now).

(Hey!  Click “CC” at the bottom of the youtube screen for English)

Okay, full circle back to the movie “Apocalypse”. In this movie (Which I guess was also called “Hell”), the sun (for unknown reasons) heated up a bit, raising our temperature about 10 Degrees C (I think that is about 18 Degrees F). That would make good old Indiana Winters more like Spring. Of course, Spring would be like Summer, as would Fall, and Summer would be an average of 103 – 121. Okay, can we say hot?! Not only that, but it would not be conducive to clouds, so little or no rain, crops would die and there would be a horrible food shortage. This is what happened in the movie.

So, bottom line: the Earth was not destroyed, but, for us, the end of the Earth was near.

As normal, my point for this entire step into a Twilight Zone’s version of “Summer Heat” is to say how we refer to the end of human civilization as the end of the Earth when it’s not. The Earth would continue revolving and moving around the Sun; it would just be dry, hot, and empty of most life. From the Earth’s point of view it might be a nasty period of time, but it might even enjoy the quiet!

This same attitude we take toward the apocalypse is one many of us take toward other things. I used to think that the worst thing in the world that could happen to me would be to not be able to work and to not make enough money to do all the things that I do.

Since my stroke, I am simply happy to be here, happen to be able to stay at home and not work (since I really can’t), and making less money has just meant changing what is important to me. The life for me has been one revelation after another.

However, what I am finally coming to understand is that, no matter what happens, I will continue doing and adjusting until I am gone and then I may be remembered, but others will adjust and go on. It is a bit humbling, but it is also a freeing feeling, I think.

How do you feel about death and others after you are gone?

_
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Soma Mukherjee  On August 25, 2012 at 3:10 am

    oh i have seen that movie quite some times..violent i must say..
    about what you asked i the end..Its not death that scares me but the way i will go that does..if i had my way i would love to go in sleep…but no one knows…

    Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On August 24, 2012 at 10:49 pm

    now those are deep questions. as far as i know i have no fear of death and i am happy because i feel i’ve left my story here, so maybe i’ll never be completely gone 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On August 25, 2012 at 12:50 am

      Great answers to both questions!
      Scott

      Like

      • buckwheatsrisk  On August 25, 2012 at 11:09 am

        why thank you 🙂 i fear the dying process more, i’ve seen too much.

        Like

        • kindredspirit23  On August 25, 2012 at 7:35 pm

          I understand.

          Like

        • buckwheatsrisk  On August 25, 2012 at 7:45 pm

          you too then? i used to work as a care aid and it really affected me, but i didn’t know it until after i no longer worked in that field

          Like

        • kindredspirit23  On August 25, 2012 at 9:33 pm

          My understanding is more from watching, reading, and talking to others. It all gets to me when it is real. Fiction doesn’t bother me much. It’s mostly when I see how inhumane people can be to each other and how worthless some people feel the lives of others are.

          Like

        • buckwheatsrisk  On August 25, 2012 at 10:04 pm

          i agree, i think animals are kinder to each other than us human animals are

          Like

        • kindredspirit23  On August 26, 2012 at 12:41 am

          Oh, you know it. If they kill you, it’s for a reason that makes sense.

          Like

        • buckwheatsrisk  On August 26, 2012 at 1:17 am

          yes exactly!

          Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Iain Kelly

Fiction Writing

contemplateandintimate

Quick reviews so you can spend more time reading, cooking, or living.

Sip Of Wellness

Sip by sip guide to live well

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

