Happy, but Unpopular

My basic attitude as you know if you follow me here is that “Everything works together in the end; if it hasn’t worked out, it isn’t the end.”

This sounds all nice and fluffy, but think of the ramifications of it:

First, that means though I do complain at times, I shouldn’t as it will work out.

My problem there is not that I don’t believe it will work out, but more that I am just tired and don’t want to take the time and effort for it to work out.

It’s the same with exercise conditioning. There is no worse time in exercise than when you are trying to initially work up to something. I got to the point (at 33) where I could play volleyball, hard, for 2-3 hours.

It was not that way when I began playing. I would huff and puff after a short time and not be able to move as effectively after the first hour. So, the initial effort was very difficult and posed a problem for me.

It’s the same with looking at all situations and knowing they will work out. Knowing is an entirely new thing, too, by the way. It is different from just having the belief. If you know it will work out, the worry is much less than when you believe it will work out.

I have seen some really horrible things work out in the end. If I hadn’t seen these things it would be much more difficult for me to believe. I think you have to pass from just saying the words to hoping for the words, to believing in the words to knowing the words.

Next, it is difficult because people may get angry at you if you spout off how their problems will work out.

Check out Sam’s post that is the reason for this one.  Many people like to complain and expect you to sympathize with them.  I have trouble with that because I feel comfortable that it will work out.  That doesn’t mean I am an unsympathetic bastard.  It just means that, while I do feel sorry that they have to go through this ordeal, I also know it will work out.

Actually, that makes it easier if I remind myself that what I am sorry about is that they have to go through this (or they wouldn’t).   I also have to remind myself that they may never truly understand why this happened and why it was necessary.  Now, that is the difficult one.

You see, my beliefs are that, if you don’t learn, then something else has to happen to get you where you need to be.  Point being my stroke.  I don’t think I had to have the stroke in order to learn what I now know for sure.  It’s more that I believe that God kept showing me and showing me lesser ways to learn and I insisted on not learning what I knew was needed.  I believe the time finally came when the only thing that was going to teach me was the stroke experience.

It has worked and I am now on the mend in a lot of ways.  What I get a lot of times now are people who are amazed at how positive I am over all of this.  They seem to understand it (I believe it is a chance for them to learn without having to go through more), but they don’t always see it as something that works in their lives, too.

A lot of them think how special I am because I can do this.  They (you) can do it too.  It is a matter of realizing that God is all love and, therefore, seeks to show us how to be happy and satisfied with what we have.

(spoiler) ->  You know, as much as the movie “Trust” bothered me, it did end on a good note – Dad / daughter starting to learn what they needed to know to continue.

We are learners by nature.  It is when we stop learning that the real problems begin.  Life is simply changing all the time.  It isn’t going from bad to good to fair to horrible; it is just life; it is just changing.

The process of the changing are to help us grow.  I have a lot of goals in life now.  They were dreams; now, they are goals.  The difference is that, now, I really believe I will reach them all.  I am not sure how or when, but that they will come to pass is something I am becoming ever so much more certain of.

I choose, not I hope.  There is tremendous difference to those two statements.  I read somewhere that the last evil out of Pandora’s Box was hope.

Hope was supposed to be horrible because it made you believe in something without it ever coming to pass.  Now, see, I don’t believe that.  I believe that hope stands in place of belief which stands in place of knowing.  One should lead to another.  I think that blind hope; hope without chance of belief or knowing is not really true hope.  What I think hope should do is propel you forward so that you see how things hoped for can come to pass so you can believe in that and come to know it.

I think I will stop here as I have given enough to keep us all thinking and learning and commenting – please comment.  I love hearing what you have to say and think on these things.  Even if you get off track of what I am saying, you are still on track for what you are thinking – and I am interested.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Destination Enlightenment  On August 10, 2015 at 8:45 pm

    I too know that things will work out and that difficult situations are a means for our learning. People seem to appreciate that about me, but not when it relates to their problems:-) I’ve learned how to approach those types of situations, but I think the most difficult ones are those that don’t realize that their suffering is due to the fact that they can’t control everything and if they believe that if they don’t keep pushing everything will fall apart. These are close relationships to me and they become frustrated when I won’t go down the
    rabbit hole of despair with them and become frustrated at my trust that everything is as it should be even when we don’t like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kindredspirit23  On August 11, 2015 at 7:07 pm

      Oh, I am there with you. If it helps – I had a recent (fairly long-term) relationship that was just like that – they had to keep push and they wanted to control everything. I persisted and it was very difficult at times. Eventually, the “works out” part began to happen and they are beginning to see it. I will always be difficult under those two situations! Best of luck.

      Liked by 1 person

  • combs2jc  On August 30, 2012 at 1:47 am

    Outstanding Scott. You put together several things most people do not understand. (I quit saying I have faith in an afterlife 8 years ago … I know there is an afterlife, and I will see all my loved ones again. Some will be waiting on me, and others I will wait on).
    Just from the technical side of writing this is good, but I love the message too.

    Like

  • Aspergers Girls  On August 30, 2012 at 1:29 am

    Beautiful post, Blog Brother. Such a wonderful attitude to share with the world. Everything is our teacher…the trees, the sky, the neighbor, the “challenges.” Each day I say to myself: How can life get any better than this? No matter what my obstacles. I try to be satisfied in this day, that this might be as good as it gets…and that’s okay with me…even better than okay. Thank you for the mention. I am so happy you wrote this. Well done. ~ Sam

    Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On August 30, 2012 at 12:31 am

    you know my stance on hope, ha but what i don’t say is hope deferred makes the heart sick and we’ve dealt with a lot of hope deferred…maybe everyone has though

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On August 30, 2012 at 1:15 am

      Hope, I think by definition, is deferred. Once it happens, it is no longer hope; it is reality. Faith and hope are the same in this way; both cannot actually occur and still exist. If you actually see God, you no longer have to have faith; now, you know. Keep that hope; it will, someday, be a reality and you will know it.
      Scott

      Like

  • lostbythesea  On August 29, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    Excellent post Scott. I have a friend who broke his neck in a daredevil cycling accident 26 years ago. He is a C4-5 quadriplegic, paralyzed from the neck down. Which is pretty life altering. He has little arm strength and even less manual dexterity. Before his accident he was a free spirited, but in his words, “misdirected” happy-go-lucky-fun-was-all-that-mattered man of 26. He skied, scuba dived, and lived a very active lifestyle. When he told me, “Breaking my neck was the best thing that ever happened to me!” I asked him why. He replied, “Aside from meeting my future wife in the hospital (just after the accident), the accident lead me go to college, get a degree, work in a career I love, buy a home and become a responsible member of my community.”

    I too believe that ‘everything happens for a reason, but first we must believe’. One day a few years ago I received a gift from a loved one with those words on it. She knew I got it too. I look at that plaque on my shelf nearly every day, and I smile. Gifts come to us in ways we could never imagine, even in our wildest dreams. 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On August 30, 2012 at 1:13 am

      I go a step further in this and say that this process works and continues even if you do not believe. Where the belief part comes in is the resolution. You will begin to notice and to become happier and more fulfilled once you believe. I still maintain that all things work together for good. They work out in the end; if it hasn’t worked out, it isn’t the end. And you won’t see it work out until you put it together and begin to believe. Thank you for the telling about the man in the accident. It is hard to believe that one was for the best until you saw it I am sure. He lived it and believed; that is phenomenal.
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

Blog Me This....

A few of my random thoughts from my journey

Life lessons

This site is all about enlightenment

UpLift Girl

...a girl's guide to navigating the crazy journey of life and faith.

The Step Back

Accepted wisdom is an oxymoron. Challenge your assumptions.

Jellico's Stationhouse

Come on in and sit a while...

priorhouse blog

Photos, art - and a little bit of LIT.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

