Sounds of Hope

I am not in the above pic – sorry.

When I was a senior in high school at Shenandoah High School in Indiana, I sang in our choir and went to try and get a first at state. That particular dream did not come true; however, at one point, I was introduced to Varner Chance, who ran “Sounds of Hope”.

Here’s the story: Sounds of Hope

SOH was a choir/orchestra of about 80 people who toured Europe and sang for different places. I auditioned for Mr. Chance and was granted a place in his choir as a 1st Tenor. I had not been raised well on music, so I was made fun of by many of the others in the group because I had no idea what the “Hallelujah Chorus” was.

http://www.epworthforestchoirschool.org/media/510/efcslogo.png
I don’t know if I was actually in the choir school, but it was run by Varner Chance and was at Epworth Forest at the time.

I only got to go because, after all other possibilities had been finished, my dad said we didn’t have the money and needed about $200 for me to go. That was a lot back then and we had tried everything. He called Mr. Chance who said that, “by coincidence”, a tenor in a previous group had donated $200 to be given to a tenor who would not be allowed to go otherwise!

http://mso.manchester.edu/conductors/vstinebaugh.jpg
This was our conductor, Mr. Vernon H. Stinebaugh. I could not find a picture of Varner Chance.

We spent about 28 days on tour about 3 weeks in Europe. I was 18, just out of H.S. and not yet in college. I was able to visit Holland, Germany, France, Belgium, Austria (beautiful), Switzerland, England, Liechtenstein, and many other wonderful countries. I still have pictures somewhere but was unable to find them for this post.

Noordwijkerhout, Holland

http://www.panoramio.com/photo/1951340
This was one place (the first, I think) where we stayed.

I tried looking it up on the Internet, but I believe Mr. Chance has passed on and the SOH has closed down (at least, administration has). I believe we rode about 3000 miles in our buses.  The Choir School that meets every summer and was started by Mr. Chance, began at Epworth Forest in Northern Indiana.  I understand that it still continues each summer at Anderson University.

I would love to return to all of the places I had been and just remember. Of course, we know that memories are always different than the actual events. That month changed my life. It still affects it and I am so glad that I can recall most of it; the stroke did not take it away.
Where have you traveled that has affected you the most?

_
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Marisa  On September 27, 2012 at 1:40 am

    Ecuador… But you knew I was going to acknowledge that before I penned it, didn’t you?! That summer forever changed my life. Just seeing a different culture and getting to know a people who speak a different language was unbelievable for me… A gal from the Midwest who had never traversed out of the country. What a gift to be able to experience that… I’m sure you share the same sentiments 😀

    Like

  • bert0001  On September 27, 2012 at 1:07 am

    Surinam always topped my list, … its powerful nature and strong people made an impression on me that will last a lifetime. I was sent there in 1995 to deploy a computer network for their customs and excise, and later teach them how to operate and maintain it.
    Very recently India made a very strong impression on me too, but I don’t know wether time will put things in perspective and maybe demote this recent experiences to a lower level.

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

