Two Fall Poems

Amid the leaves
By Scott L Vannatter
October 9, 2012

Leaves, brightly colored,
Falling through the sky
Touching lightly on the earth
Becoming less than dry

Children raking, piling
Piling them all so high
Counting, running, leaping with mirth
For a moment seeming to fly

Piles being thrown, here and there
Amid the shouts and cry
Sorting and readying, giving mounds new birth
Lining up for another try

Lost in Thought
By Scott L Vannatter
October 9, 2012

I lay amid the fallen leaves
Lost in thought yet attuned to all
I think of her, my long-lost love
During this season, my beloved fall

I shut out sights and sounds alike
Envisioning her form and face
Wrapped in her beauteous memories
I am in another place

I touch her cheek and steal a kiss
Then dry her salty tears
I hold her for the longest time
Not now, but years and years

She’s gone from me, but still remains
A moment always in my mind
Though I’ve lost her, I just have to think
And her, again, I find

I open my eyes the leaves to see
Beyond them the clouds above
I must wipe my tears; they’re on my face
As I think of my lost love

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • nightlake  On November 5, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    both are nice..liked the first one a lot

    Like

  • Indira  On October 11, 2012 at 11:22 am

    Pics and poems both are beautiful. I think when feeling low or depressed, writing something helps.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On October 11, 2012 at 1:34 pm

      I am beginning to agree with that. An outlet, I suppose.

      Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On October 9, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    very moving 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On October 9, 2012 at 11:11 pm

      Thank you. I have been a bit pensive today.

      Like

      • buckwheatsrisk  On October 9, 2012 at 11:12 pm

        i wondered are you okay?

        Like

        • kindredspirit23  On October 9, 2012 at 11:29 pm

          I have to admit I am tired. Did not sleep well last night. Weather like this sometimes, gets me down, but I still like it for some reason.
          Tonight got some news that is going to be a lot of problems or cost me a bunch of money (I will take the problems). Thanks for the concern, but I am okay. Just a little bit down. It happens; I am not worried.
          Scott

          Like

        • buckwheatsrisk  On October 10, 2012 at 12:23 am

          Sorry to hear that! I hope the sun is out tomorrow and things work out for the best! you’re not alone either!

          Like

        • kindredspirit23  On October 10, 2012 at 8:36 am

          Nice to know! 🙂

          Like

  • susielindau  On October 9, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    So beautiful. The poems and the photos.The second one brought tears to my eyes…

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On October 9, 2012 at 11:12 pm

      Thank you. I felt that same way writing it.

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Free to express

thoughts, experiences, travel, feelings, stories, diaries and many more...

The Subjective Herald

"If audacity had a viewpoint —and a column—"

Girl Boner

Where Good Girls Go For Sexual Empowerment

Happiness Between Tails by da-AL

Arts + Cooking + Dancing + Joy + Writing + Tales + Tails

Nyssa's Hobbit Hole

Diary, Opinions, Passions, Fiction, Memoir

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

