Time for a Change

Well, I told Lady Day I would talk about some changes today, so I will. I have been feeling a bit down lately. Part of it is my seemingly eternal quest for sleep, quality sleep. It is better; however, after a time, lack of good sleep catches up to you and voila – you are down.

So, I decided to do some pick-me-ups. I had lunch today, out of town, with a couple of old friends. We get together about 1 time a month, eat, and catch up.

After that, I decided to go to a nail shop in town and have my toes done. You see, one of my bigger problems is that I can’t bend over well and can’t raise my feet up like I used to. So, trimming toenails is not only horribly difficult, but dangerous. I have some neuropathy, loss of feeling, and so, when I tried it myself, I cut pretty deep. Not good for a diabetic. So, I go to a nail salon and, for $5 plus tip, they take care of it for me. I just do it when I go to eat, so all in one trip. The people are oriental and very nice. After the first couple of trips, I have gotten to enjoy it and almost look forward to it.

Following that, I decided to take in a matinee. I went to two different theaters (experimenting with my GPS). However, I caught them both in the middle of shows and if I waited for the next one I would be driving home in the dark. I didn’t want to do that today, so I came on home.

When I arrived, I had been doing some thinking and decided on a big change…I deleted my beard! Yes, I cut it off, mustache and all. I then took a new pic for my gravatar and will put it on the other sites, too. The beard thing was somewhat expected. This was the longest beard and I had it for the longest time. I don’t care for them much. I thought back as to why I grew this one and realized that most of it (shakes head in shame) was that I was tired of shaving every day. What I realized is that, first, I don’t like the way I look in a beard, and, second, it is more trouble than it is worth. So, about a half hour and two twin blades later, I am me again. I also realized that I was doing just a bit of hiding behind it. That has to stop, so, now, it is done.

I feel…lighter!

Have you ever done something in order to hide behind it?

How about because you were being a bit lazy?

_

Have a wonderful day and smile more!

_
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • abjectbooks  On October 11, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    You must feel very refreshed; enjoy!

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On October 12, 2012 at 12:53 am

      I do and I am

      Like

  • Indira  On October 11, 2012 at 11:13 am

    Lighter, better, younger. Everyone should pamper their body, take good care of it, because it never forgives.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On October 11, 2012 at 1:33 pm

      That is true as I well know.

      Like

  • Linda Stapleton de Martinez  On October 11, 2012 at 6:26 am

    Great message, Scott, and lovely to see you from behind the camouflage. I was thinking about whether I have hidden behind things before and I’m sure I’ve used over working, high achievement, people pleasing etc., to cover up when I didn’t think I was good enough. God thinks I’m good enough, but old habits die hard, perhaps just different motives these days.

    It was also a very strange experience to give up using make up and colouring my hair, as taught by my Dominican Pentecostal Church…I guess now I just look the age I am, no frills, no camouflage and, now here’s the surprise, I think more people have told me I’m beautiful since then than they did when I was trying desperately to improve on God’s handiwork….. I am not opening the debate on all this doctrinal stuff, tired of that, but it is a very interesting process to go through.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On October 11, 2012 at 9:57 am

      No, debate. We are what/who we are.
      Scott

      Like

  • ~Lady Day  On October 11, 2012 at 5:50 am

    Very good.

    Like

  • Marisa  On October 11, 2012 at 2:23 am

    Nice post, Scott! I’m proud of you for getting out for a “pick me up” day… Good for you! I like the clean-shaven look btw :))

    Like

  • Truth and Cake  On October 10, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    I thought you looked different in your gravatar! Change is always good 🙂

    Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On October 10, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    i hope you get a good nights sleep! glad you pampered yourself today (no not the diapers! lol)
    a whole new Scott….
    yes i hide. 🙂

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Little Mermaid

MAKING A DIFFERENCE, ONE STEP AT A TIME...

Thrifty Campers

Nature knows no such barriers

Rereading Jane Eyre

Author Luccia Gray

Euphrates.

my VOICE

ffd writes

Flash fiction, random musings from Botswana

Becoming Unstuck

Getting out of my own way

Saprogenic Storyteller

Me creating stories..my stories creating me.

www.akswrites.com

The Untold Stories

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

Natasha Musing

Of Musings, Muses & Magic

