Rip Van Winkle had it easy!

Yep! He had it easy!

I mean it! He just had to sleep for however many years it was (20 says Internet). He should try to not sleep.

I find that easy to do, just miserable. Yesterday (Saturday), I decided to try something. I take 3 medications to help me sleep:

The first is Melatonin. This is an herb and your body makes it. My understanding is that is helps, over time, to regulate how long you stay asleep.

The second is Valerian Root, another herb, which helps you feel sleepy.

The last is an Rx (Prescription) called Sonata or Zaleplon (generic). It is also supposed to make you sleepy and help you stay sleepy all night.

There are three things I don’t like about Sonata:

First, it is a prescription, which has to be renewed each month. I have had some problems with this.

Second, according to my up-coming Medicare prescription plan, it will be the most expensive one I purchase.

Third, it seems to take about 12 hours to leave my system. I am very groggy when I get up after being in bed for even 9 hours, even if I slept well.

Felt sleepy, but it didn’t really take…

So, last night, I decided to not take my Sonata. About thirty minutes after taking the other two, I was extremely sleepy and went to bed. Now, the only reason I say I slept at all was that, if I did lay in bed for 4 1/2 hours without sleeping, it didn’t feel like it. But, I didn’t sleep long, nor did I sleep well.

I felt awake at 5:30, but by 7 was so dead tired, I tried to go back to bed and sleep again. I did and in two separate sessions, I got about 3 1/2 hours in by 2:00pm today. It was enough that I have made it through the day, but I will go back on my third med tonight.

This isn’t a complaining post. What I really set out to do was an experiment and it had bad side effects. It did keep me from meeting my daughter and her fiance for the suit fit for the wedding, but she is great and we are doing that at another date. I also did not get groceries tonight, but those will be bought in time. That’s for certain.

My experiment showed me I need my meds.

Have any of you tried to experiment just a bit with meds or a recipe and had it simply go bad?
I hope you rest well tonight. I plan to.

_
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Soma Mukherjee  On October 23, 2012 at 2:33 am

    Strange isnt it how somedays we wake up tired
    sleep eludes us plays games comes to us in phases and we end up having dark eye shadows

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On October 23, 2012 at 10:01 am

      My son’s studies tell him that we each have a cycle (a lot of them) which we go through each night and if we wake up in the middle of a cycle, we are much more tired than if we slept less but woke up at the end of a cycle. Makes sense to me.
      Scott

      Like

  • Indira  On October 23, 2012 at 12:33 am

    Have you ever tried mint tea? or some homeopathic med.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On October 23, 2012 at 9:59 am

      That’s what the Valera root and Melatonin is. Tea, in any form, has never been something to make me sleepy. i did better last night. I believe part of it is me learning to sleep well. I don’t worry about it so much and that makes it better. Thank you for the suggestion and the thoughts. I may try mint tea in the future. Thanks again,
      Scott

      Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On October 21, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    oh my gosh i went through hell with meds and med changes. i ended up being off all of them except the one i have always been on for epilepsy. it took me over a year after to completely recover. it was awful. sleep and seizures where the main issues with all the meds amongst many other really horrible side effect, add in withdrawal with every change. every so often now when i can’t sleep. i use ativan. have you tried it? it works well, and i’m not groggy in the am. for me i only take half of a .5mg pill. that may be different for others. my anticonvulsant is in the same family, which is probably why i need very little.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On October 21, 2012 at 10:45 pm

      Will try to talk to doctor about it. The problem was that I had been on one that worked so very well before the stroke. Afterwards, I took it again and couldn’t sleep for 27 hours! So, I am careful.
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

