What They Can Know

I was relearning how to get my messages in Facebook last night and today. It seems that I have had quite a few, actually, since July, and have not read them well. So, I took the time last night and today to catch up and answer a lot of them.

People were very patient with me. They picked right back up from almost 5 months ago and answered when I replied. Too bad work was never that way.

Anyway, while I was looking, I did some clicking and copy and paste on some things. I found a conversation I had with someone back in early May and read through it. It brought back memories.

Then, I copied/pasted that conversation forward. I had, when done, 205 pages of conversation with that one person! Now, it was spread out with the names and pictures included, but it also had words, times, and dates of all the conversations I have had with that person back through May and I didn’t see how far back I could to. I went to April 26th and my computer slowed way down and started having problems; however, Facebook was still showing that it was going back, so at least 6 months.

Do you realize that means FB has every conversation held between every person for at least 6 months back?

Wow! Now, let’s think about this. That’s Facebook. Let’s add to that all phone calls (places, times, dates, persons) back for however long. Then, you have emails (which may be kept a long, long time), bills, postal, and court records. Oh, yes, I forgot doctor records, hospitals, lawyers, school, and colleges, as well as work places.

I am sure there are more, but I will make my point. Today’s computers are fast and much cheaper than before. Storage space is ridiculously cheap. Companies can keep pretty much all the information they want for next to nothing in cost.

What this can mean (does mean) is that we are an open book to anyone with the time, money , and permissions to look us over. We are on cameras constantly at stop lights, in security in buildings, camera phones, and cameras. When you add to that how difficult it truly is to totally erase something from a hard drive or other computer component, you have a picture of each of us that is out there waiting to be put together.

Think about what people could know if they had access to all of this information on one computer and could rearrange it and search it. What would friends, relatives, co-workers and spouses know about and, perhaps, misunderstand if they could see it all?

It is a little scary when you think that our government is not that far away from keeping, tracking, and sorting all of the info on all of us. I like my private life. It is not terribly exciting, but it is mine and I am the only one that knows everything about it. I am not sure how I would feel if I knew that someone, anyone might be able to find out it all with a push of a few buttons.

Oh, did I mention blog information? 🙂

What do you think?

Tell me your thoughts on this issue of privacy. Tell me quick before I can read it on the nightly news!

_
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • buckwheatsrisk  On October 28, 2012 at 12:30 am

    oh man i was just watching Bourne Supremacy tonight and said to Hubby how it’s scary because the Gov. could know that much about us if it wanted too. i the thought of being on camera! i love my privacy!

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

