Conquest of Night

Conquest of Night
By Scott L Vannatter
November 14, 2012

The lights all dim,
Shadows fade into blackness
I settle into that portion of night
Where my close friend comes to play

That dear acquaintance known well
By tears and frowns dragging
On face and skin until all
Hangs low and sadness covers the whole

Easy all day to keep the light
Glowing in cheeks and the reaches
Of mind and soul
Kept fresh by brightness burning

But, oh by god, by midnight black
Demeanor takes a solid turn
And wisps of nightshade crowd inside
The fissures of gray matter darken so

The fight ensues the battle all but lost
As tendrils of twilight fog the brain
And make simple the trek to down and out
All that’s needed is to give in

But fight I do this quest of late
Knowing that loss costs more than life
If fall I do then mind will shatter
And thoughts of you will fail

Hold resolute do I then
To your image and let the beauty
I live to please take shape
And focus all my will toward thee

In my vision you come to rest
Bringing peace and love to my dying breath
And breathe back life, vivid and full
Making crimson my lips and complete my heart

Words may fail and ears may ring deaf
My shouts fall not on listening ones
But my whisper sounds throughout my soul
Saying, “My love I need you still”

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

