A Short Story and the Telling of a Tale

Alice looked tired and worn-out. Her humor was a bit droll.
“I suppose,” she asked the queen, “it’s to be ‘off with her head?’”
“Oh, no, my dear,” she said, “that would be my sister.” She turned to the guards.
“Beat her to death.” From her side, came another voice, “Bury her just before,” said the Queen of Spades.
A few moments later, Alice found herself running through the forest, the guards in hot pursuit. She looked at yet another sister, this one running right along beside her.
“Why?”
“They are a girl’s best friend, right?” They ran faster, smiling.

_______________________

The telling of a tale will be a shortened version of my evening last night (Saturday). I recently was introduced to a group (website) called “Meetup.com”. It’s not particularly a dating site. It is a fairly national (my son in Oregon told me about it) site that simply promotes “meetups” or gatherings / groups put together by various people then known as “members”.

They put out an invite on the site. The site will do searches and, based on your location and interests send you a list of possible meetups. The one I decided on was a movie meetup at Castleton AMC to see “Skyfall” on Saturday evening at 6:45pm.

I checked the list and there would be 4 of us. It was movie then a bite to eat and talk afterwards. I left, ate supper before, and hopped on the interstate. I was watching the other direction, as there has been horrible construction and hours of waiting over there. I saw no problems and decided the trip home would be nice and much quicker. I could take the interstate!

When I returned my gaze forward I had to put on my brakes. The traffic was at a standstill and I could not see the end of it. Of course! I finally saw the flashing light, but when I got there, they were gone. I never did know what caused the over 20 minute delay. According to the GPS, I would arrive at 6:31 (one minute late if nothing else happened).

Castleton is a nightmare shopping mall anytime, but on a Saturday night the weekend before Thanksgiving? I should have stayed home. I found the theater, took nearly 10 minutes to park and walk (hobble slightly) to the entrance. The line was fairly long, but someone got my attention and told me they were waiting for the group leader. As it turned out, I arrived about 1 minute before she did and I was just in time for us to walk in and sit. I had done my prayer about that, turning it over to God and just not worrying anymore. Always works out.

The movie was good (I would recommend it) and we went to a little Asian stir-fry restaurant after for some good talk and pretty decent food. Only three of us actually connected. I say connected, but the other two were tired and I know that the group leader wanted more people.  We did spend some time talking.  Nice people.

Regardless, I decided to have fun, talk, and enjoy being out. After all, I was driving home in the dark, about 35 miles, and on the interstate. All went well. The trip home was uneventful. The site is a good one. If you just need to get out, meet people, and enjoy yourself with little investment outside of some time and your own money, I would say check it out.

They have several writing groups going, a theater group, a “nerds” dating group, and quite a few other interests from the ones I chose. I would like something closer and am thinking about starting a group here for Anderson and the surrounding area. We will see.

As Zoe says in Buckwheatsrisk: “There is hope.”


Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Marisa  On November 20, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    Ron and Josh saw Skyfall on their dad/son date last week and liked it… he’s such an awesome James Bond!!

    Like

  • Aspergers Girls  On November 19, 2012 at 4:07 am

    Giving it up to God is always good. I’m glad you had a nice time and hope you find some other groups you enjoy. You are mentioned in my blog today. Hope all is well. ~ Sam

    Like

  • hope the happy hugger  On November 19, 2012 at 1:41 am

    Sounds like a a lovely group to be a part of, Scott.

    Like

  • inspireme1212  On November 18, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    You’ve inspired me to enter the blogosphere. I started a blog. I might need some help navigating all the fancy footwork involved. 🙂 Thanks and God bless. May what we give to others return to us as well. http://divinefire1212.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On November 18, 2012 at 11:11 pm

      I chose to follow your inspiration. I am happy to play whatever small part I might.
      Please feel free to ask for help, direction, and sharing as needed. Also, you may vent if you need to also.
      Scott

      Like

    • kindredspirit23  On November 18, 2012 at 11:22 pm

      It would be nice to reply to you on your blog, but I could not find a place to do so. I am responding here in my admin area. It was nice to meet last night.

      Like

      • inspireme1212  On November 18, 2012 at 11:29 pm

        Oh dear. Do I need to add a place to reply? First-timers forget these things. It was nice meeting you as well. It was even better coming home and thinking about some of the things you had talked about and then reading some of your work. I needed some inspiration. Spirit also gives us exactly what we need, exactly when we need it.

        Like

        • kindredspirit23  On November 18, 2012 at 11:45 pm

          Yes, that is one of the great things about Spirit. I didn’t think you needed to add a place to reply, but it has been awhile, so perhaps you do need to check. If you still have problems, let me know and I will go to work checking it out, too.
          I didn’t think I said much last night. It’s nice that you listened. It’s even nicer that you were able to go home and actually find some of my work to read.
          Scott

          Like

        • inspireme1212  On November 18, 2012 at 11:57 pm

          I like you. Please don’t think that I am stalking you –but I am stalking you. LOL I read a lot of your work today. I wouldn’t mind getting together sometime for more talk. Check out my facebook page–that will give you more insight into me.

          Tamara

          Like

        • kindredspirit23  On November 19, 2012 at 12:45 am

          Interesting. I was thinking the same about you. I would really enjoy getting together and talking. I will check out your Facebook page very soon.
          Thanks for making me smile.
          Scott

          Like

        • inspireme1212  On November 18, 2012 at 11:59 pm

          I don’t see the reply I just sent–hmmmm–well, I did reply–let me know if you didn’t get it…. I am going to sleep now. Nighty night.
          Tami

          Like

        • kindredspirit23  On November 19, 2012 at 12:46 am

          I am answering everything I receive. Yes, get your rest. Please contact me again tomorrow. I would really enjoy hearing from you and will look forward to it.
          Night,
          Scott

          Like

        • inspireme1212  On November 19, 2012 at 9:40 am

          Good Morning, Scott—I’m used to being able to see and reread anything I send out in email or Facebook message but with this forum, I don’t seem to be able to do that. I will adjust. Old dogs can learn new tricks, eh?

          I’m working 12-8 tonight so I will be leaving around 11:15. Do you have texting abilities on your phone? I enjoy the flexibility of leaving a quick text from time to time but I know that not everyone have unlimited texting. I do have it for the entire family group as one item to pay for each month. Anyway, I’ve enjoyed seeing a glimpse into the blogging universe–it seems similar to Facebook but seems a little more creative and less mundane in recounting day to day activities.

          I wasn’t quite sure how to interpret the last post about Meetup groups. I could see several possibilities but when I make assumptions, sometimes that is a problem for me. So, I won’t make assumptions and I won’t read between the lines because you seem to be kind enough to be direct and not toy with someone. If you tire of my attention–please, just say so to me. I rated the movie as a 3 because the scene with the lady being shot with a drink balanced on her head was so violent and heartless. I realize that it showed the brutality that
          he was capable of but the scene was callously tossed aside and she was treated like a piece of garbage. It’s hard for me to breeze on into the rest of the movie and “enjoy” the humor and story as much because I am still reeling from the impact of that horrific scene. I’d much rather see sex, nudity, drug usage or hear crass language (the factors that tend to get an “R” rating for movies) than to witness violence but I noticed that the Bond movie wasn’t even rated R. Amazing how our society seems to have that turned upside down–we think it is ok to expose ourselves and young people to intense violent images and scenes and that it is harmless to the psyche but a scene of two consenting adults in bed is more threatening to a young teen. It just doesn’t make sense to me. I want my son to be a healthy adult with a relationship in time but I don’t want him to be desensitized to the violence in our world and participartory in that violence.

          I like emotional movies, dramas, comedies, some sci fi- really anything with a story that has a positive twist –i don’t like horror because of the graphic violence being viewed as entertainment; to me, violence is not entertaining. But, I do like some stories that are lumped into the horror grouping sometimes—such as those involving the supernatural. I am just sensitive to violence and that’s why I wasn’t raving about the Bond movie at dinner. I enjoyed “Flight” more becuse it was a story of redemption and personal change.

          Ok, time to shower and get ready for work. Have a beautiful day.

          Namaste,
          Tamara

          Like

        • kindredspirit23  On November 19, 2012 at 1:07 pm

          I will always be open and honest. It is something I crave in almost any type of relationship. Most of the time, people can be wonderful and free and forgiving and whatever else nice if they have positive communication between them. I will say this to you: I would much rather talk in email than back an forth in this environment. I don’t care for everyone in the world being able to read everything I write on a personal basis. I don’t think you do either.

          The public email I listed is bookman232@yahoo.com If you could send me a note there, then I would have your email and could respond with my private email and/or phone. Yes, I have texting. Reception used to be so poor here at home, but it is much better. I don’t get every single text, but nearly all. I enjoy texts and emails the most. You are right about the blogging universe. Not so much of a day-to-day as a themed event, which may come from everyday, that tells something about you and/or the world, or asks a solid question. I enjoy varying my posts, as you may have noticed.

          Hmm, I am not sure what you meant about the post I wrote concerning the meetup group. Perhaps, texting or email we can discuss in more detail. As far as the movie, it was not the best Bond movie I have seen, nor was it spectacular in its own right. The scene you described as violent only bothered me because it happened and I had hoped she would be one to be “saved”. Violence in film doesn’t bother me very much, though a bit more now than before the stroke. I don’t care for absolutely “tossed-in” violence, but if it can be fit to the plot and help it, then I am ok with that. Now, saying that, does not mean I am for violence in general. Real, actual violence is something I don’t care for much at all. I can separate in my mind violence that is actually happening and what is on the screen or in a game.

          I enjoy watching movies of all types, but don’t enjoy them when the person or group I am with are not enjoying them. I simply enjoy “movies”. “The Little Mermaid” is a personal favorite of mine as is “Bicentennial Man”. Funny strikes me well, along with musicals, and SF. It’s funny, I guess, but the one type of movie I don’t have much heart to see are those that center around possession and such like “The Exorcist” and “Paranormal Activity”. Those, even, take a backseat to movies like “Hostel”. I have seen it, and didn’t care for it as some of the very graphic violence just was rejected a bit by my mind.

          I find this interesting as I have seen all the “Saw” movies and wasn’t, particularly, bothered by them. I know I have a bit of difficulty dealing with eyes. That may be it. Well, I could discuss films all day, but it is time to do a bit of work.
          I do hope you are having a wonderful day and look forward to the email to catapult our discussions to a more private arena.
          I am enjoying the company; no tiring of the attention at all.
          Scott

          Like

        • inspireme1212  On November 19, 2012 at 10:22 pm

          Oops, I thought this was a private message arena; looks like this old cat better learn new tricks and fast!

          Like

        • kindredspirit23  On November 19, 2012 at 11:31 pm

          🙂

          Like

        • kindredspirit23  On November 19, 2012 at 1:03 am

          I had to approve the first reply before it would be seen.
          Also, I tried to look at your facebook page…um…didn’t know your last name, so couldn’t look
          I listed an email to use for here…
          bookman232@yahoo.com That’s not my main one, but if you will send me a note there, I will send you the main one in reply. Just let me know you sent it, so I will check…
          Scott

          Like

        • inspireme1212  On November 19, 2012 at 11:19 am

          I sent you a couple of facebook messages and a friend request- I used my maiden name on FB –Tami Buckley–all you really have to do is accept the friend request that i sent to you and you will be at the appropriate page.

          I’ll send an email to the bookman address now….

          Tami

          Like

        • kindredspirit23  On November 19, 2012 at 1:12 pm

          I answered the other comment first, so didn’t know about the FB info. I will go check.
          Scott

          Like

Trackbacks

  • By Angels, Never Demons « Kindredspirit23's Blog on November 26, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    […] Enter meetup.com, a site where people just get together and do things.  I did not really want to drive to Indianapolis to simply watch a movie, but in this case, the group was small, one was really cute, and they were going to see “Skyfall”.  So I decided to go. […]

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

