The Conclusion of a Lifetime: One, Anyway

Getting back to normal? Things still change.

My daughter’s wedding is now over. People have moved back into their own lives; my daughter is back from her honeymoon. Things are all getting back to whatever normal is.

But, there have been changes; things are not the same; they will not ever be the same. I read another post by Blessed with a Star on the Forehead. She spoke of forgiving her Ex and moving on and still caring.

My daughter’s wedding was a bit of healing for me as well. Her mother, my ex, was at the small ceremony. It has always been with great difficulty that I am around her. We didn’t get along and, usually, have some form of disagreement within a short time, even if it is all within me. I just choose to not fight; it wasn’t worth it.

At the wedding, it was different this time. She was present, but the feelings were different; she treated me a bit different. She has changed. I could feel the honesty and the care she had. No, not a getting back together or anything. Her husband is a great guy; I told him so and have before. She was just more accepting and personable.

Just goes to show that life is truly what goes on when you are making plans. Life just happened.

(Above – close as two cats will get to hugging.Β  It feels good to get along.)

It’s good because now I can care what happens to the two of them. It was, yes, a lifting of spirit and a joy that let me be just a little better myself. We even hugged at the end of the ceremony and parted as people who could care for each other and be happy for the good things and sad for the bad things.

I like it much better.

God does know what He is doing.

The interesting this is that He is doing it even when we aren’t there.

_
Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Truth and Cake  On December 13, 2012 at 12:56 am

    I was really worried about how my (long divorced) parents would behave at my wedding, since they’d only seen each other once in the last twenty years and historically aren’t very fond of one another. But they got along so well, complimented one another and even walked me down the aisle together! I was on cloud nine. I’m sure your daughter really appreciated the fact that you got along so well. And how nice that you were able to enjoy the day without that tension and stress!

    Like

  • Indira  On November 20, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    Hi,Nice pics of cat. they tell a story. The only permanent thing in life is change. Accept and move on is the best policy. Have a nice time.

    Like

  • Marisa  On November 20, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    This post made me so happy, Scott! Isn’t it a great feeling to be loosed from ties that bound for so many years… yet another of satan’s talons released from you my friend! BIG smiles πŸ˜€

    Like

  • inspireme1212  On November 20, 2012 at 8:16 am

    I enjoyed this. It is a story of letting go of the past and creating a better today. The cat pictures are adorable. Congrats on moving forward, Tami

    Like

  • thehappyhugger  On November 20, 2012 at 2:13 am

    Firstly, I love those pics of the cats and secondly I know what you mean about not wanting to fight … I’m so glad you and the ex are on a more understanding and caring footing now.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On November 20, 2012 at 11:10 am

      There’s a part of me that wonders if it will last, but I will let that take care of itself.

      Like

  • A Star on the Forehead  On November 19, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    How great that God has granted us the amazing power of acceptance and forgiveness, of others and specially of ourselves! I could feel your heart and gratitude on your words! We are blessed and life will only get better and more loving! Many blessings! πŸ™‚

    Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On November 19, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    such a gift. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • ~Lady Day  On November 19, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    I am smiling…so very much for you friend. So happy to hear about this breech being mildly repaired. It is a good thing for your soul, and for those in your life…all of you. So. Congrats on this milestone.

    Like

  • boomiebol  On November 19, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    Good πŸ™‚

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

