The Future has to begin Somewhere

I wrote a post last week about going to a group who met through http://www.meetup.com
We, the three of us, went to see “Skyfall”, the new Bond thriller. As I said then, I enjoyed the movie.

From that experience, I received an email from one of the two ladies who attended with me. Tamara told me that she had decided to try blogging, as I had been so excited about it after the movie. She also read a lot of my posts, liked the person she could see in the writing, and posed some interest to meet again.

After a couple of emails, we decided to meet last Tuesday evening at the Cracker Barrel restaurant about ½ way between her work and my home for supper. I spent the day happy and trying to get everything done.

It was my reflexology date (which went well) and my cleaning person came to work on the house. All was finished up before 4pm and I began to get ready. I left the house with a little over 45 minutes to make the trip (decent time) and, again, looked for traffic on the other side of the way.

AGAIN, within 4 miles of the restaurant and on time, traffic stopped. This time, I found out later, the problem was what passed for “normal” evening work traffic on this 4-6 miles stretch of Interstate as you came into Indianapolis. Traffic was slow enough that I could stop and text a couple of words, telling Tamara I would be in “traffic 20min” and later “116th street” – about 2 miles.

I arrived about 15 minutes late and we met. She had been amazed as her phone was down to 8% but managed to pick up my texts and let her send hers back. We had a wonderful meal (she showed me she had read my posts by knowing what I wanted to eat). We talked for several hours and found we had a lot in common and enjoyed each other’s company very much. We made plans to go out again soon and parted company about 9pm.

I started home. When I got to the turn for the entrance ramp at I69 and 96th street heading North, the car in front of me put on his backup lights. I pulled more to the right side of the lane. Then the car on the ramp began backing up. I was so busy watching the two cars, the cars behind me, and the cars getting ready to pull in from the other direction, that I saw an opportunity to get out of the mess and go around the cars and took it. That’s when I looked up and saw that the reason for all the commotion was that all 4 lanes of traffic were at an almost standstill.

I managed to put out into traffic (the cars / trucks certainly didn’t want to give way – how rude) and get across the other two lanes so that I was in the lane to head on down the Interstate after the 116th street exit (very bad traffic most of the time). I could not figure out exactly what was going on besides it being Indy and things were messed up from construction. Then a police car and a tow truck went down the emergency lane. Now, I knew there had been a wreck ahead. What I didn’t know until 30 minutes later (it took 32 minutes to go the first mile of the two miles of backed up traffic) was that the wreck was in the lane I had worked so hard to get into!

Since traffic was stopped, I sent Tamara a message to let her know what had happened, then managed, at long last, to get past the mess up and head on to home. I decided to stop in Anderson at Wal-Mart for groceries so I didn’t have to go back out the next day and get them.

While I was shopping, I began to get a little dizzy. I knew that meant that I had not eaten correctly. I remembered not eating my bread and jelly at supper. Normally, that wouldn’t be a real problem, but since I took my meds as normal and have been on a supplement that is helping my sugar, it dropped too low. By the halfway mark on groceries, I was in a cold sweat and dizzy. That is not a good sign; it means eat NOW.

I decided that with all that goes on in Wal-Mart anymore, I could take care of the problem, so I opened a package of candy (hush!) and ate a couple of the small pieces. I ended up having to do this several times before getting done and heading home. I did some math in my head and realized that my sugar had, most likely, dropped to about 60 (80 is normal for me in the morning, 115 throughout day), so it wasn’t a surprise then.

I took care of the problem and went to bed. What I have to say is that, even with all the problems and the situations, I enjoyed the time spent so much that I would not have traded it. I trust in God, so I know that there are special times ahead. Time will tell what they are.

Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Indira  On November 26, 2012 at 11:57 am

    I’m happy for you.

    Like

  • Aspergers Girls  On November 25, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    My little heart is beating so happily for you. Updates! Updates! Your blog surely radiates with what a lovely soul you have. She is one lucky gal! Yay you! Do you normally keep snacks in your car? I can’t remember if you mentioned that. Please be careful… 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On November 26, 2012 at 12:26 am

      Am working on making sure the snack thing doesn’t happen again.
      She may be a lucky gal, but I think I am one lucky guy!

      Like

  • Marisa  On November 24, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    So thankful for my positive, find-the-best-in-every-situation friend!

    Like

  • Resilient Heart  On November 22, 2012 at 8:45 am

    I wish you joy in your journey, where ever it takes you. What a lovely beginning. 🙂

    Having the unfortunate timing of being in wrecks myself, I now pray for those injured. Isn’t that how life seems to go? We get broken so we understand the path of others and maybe, just maybe, become angels and advocates for them…?

    Perhaps that’s the gist of all life, to continue to open our hearts wider and wider, no matter what. Forgive me for going on, something sparked me here. 🙂

    Like

  • onethousandsingledays  On November 22, 2012 at 7:30 am

    I look forward to hearing updates on how things go with you and the fair maiden!

    Like

  • Linda Stapleton de Martinez  On November 22, 2012 at 6:41 am

    Just wrote a long reply and lost it when I tried to fill in the form below so let’s try the trusted Facebook route. Won’t repeat everything I said, but it seems timely that I should read this on Thanksgiving. Praying for more and more blessings for you Scott, maybe with Tamara.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On November 22, 2012 at 6:47 am

      Thanks, Linda. I have decided that I am one to not walk away from things, but to give them the chance to flourish. What happens down the road happens, but it only happens quicker and worse if I think about that. This is a nice relationship. I am already comfortable and get wonderful vibes. Your thoughts, blessings, and prayers are always welcome.

      Like

  • thehappyhugger  On November 22, 2012 at 2:49 am

    Glad the date was a good one and take care with that bloog sugar!

    Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On November 22, 2012 at 2:46 am

    Glad you had a good time Scott but you have to be careful regarding your sugar problem.
    hugs 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On November 22, 2012 at 6:07 am

      I know. It’s changing with this new supplement. I have to watch that.
      Glad to hear from you.
      Hope all is going well up your way,
      Scott

      Like

  • buckwheatsrisk  On November 21, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    Well isn’t that nice!! (not the traffic or the low sugar)

    Like

  • Cafe  On November 21, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    Yikes! Glad you ended up being okay, Scott! As ES said above, please be careful!

    Thanks for your recent visit to my blog, btw 🙂 I hope you will leave a 10-word-or-less description of your blog on my page dedicated to my readers so ppl can know what your blog is about! http://yourdailydoseblog.com/2012/10/11/a-page-dedicated-to-my-readers-your-blogs-please-help-me-finish-it-by-describing-your-blog-in-10-words-or-less/

    Thanks and take good care! 🙂

    Like

  • Enchanted Seashells  On November 21, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    Be careful! I don’t have a blood sugar problem but when I don’t eat, I get all lightheaded and I know that’s no good.

    Like

  • boomiebol  On November 21, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    Glad you had a good time all in all :).

    Like

Trackbacks

  • By Angels, Never Demons « Kindredspirit23's Blog on November 26, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    […] Enter meetup.com, a site where people just get together and do things.  I did not really want to drive to Indianapolis to simply watch a movie, but in this case, the group was small, one was really cute, and they were going to see “Skyfall”.  So I decided to go. […]

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

