Just a feeling!

I was having problems trying to figure out tonight what to do my post on.  It has been a long week, in fact a long couple of weeks.  I did manage to get into the Christmas spirit and have a good time.  My father did end up at the ER on Christmas morning, but is much better now; thanks for the prayers.  My computer is back, kinda, the way it was.  I have a new monitor waiting for me at Walmart along with a copy of Windows 7.  Now, if the blizzard conditions would let up, I could go get them.  My learning curve has been the highest I have had since I was in rehab for the stroke.  My cleaning person helped me redo my computer room and get ready for my hosting the family New Year’s Day mid-day meal.  I even discovered that Roku, my television program provider, has a great number of stations I didn’t now about.  So, now I can work on my laptop and watch some great shows.

So, there you have the last couple of weeks all summed up in a single paragraph!  The interesting thing is it has all seemed so busy for me.  I had gotten used to doing things a certain way, not quite a rut, but just, well, yes, I guess a rut…So this all changed everything.  I remember now how it feels to be a little rushed and trying to do several things at once.  I know a lot of you do things like this all the time.  We are a society in which we are expected to do a lot of things at the same time, do them well, and still have time for other things.  I used to be this way when I was working.  My entire life was rushed and full and there never seemed to be enough time to get it all done.

I guess this Christmas, this holiday season, I will be thankful for several things.  I am thankful that I am alive.  The stroke I had was one of those that, percentage-wise, people don’t survive.  I did and I thank God for that.

By the same token I thank God for that stroke.  It slowed my life down; it caused me to reevaluate nearly everything.  My life is totally different now.  I don’t rush through things; I take my time.  I walk slowly; I bend slowly; if I don’t, I know I will fall; I will get hurt.  My stroke changed the way I act and the way I think.  I enjoy it more now.

I am more thankful for my family, for my friends, my life, and my blog.  It truly is a wonderful life.

I know this post seems to be all over the place.  But it’s not, at least, inside my head.  In my head it is all about love, friendship and love.  This is the time of year in which love becomes very important, very central to what’s going on in life.  What I wish for you all is that you slow down and take the time to see how much can pass you by if you let it.  I am in a different mood tonight, but, perhaps, that is for the best.  I feel this is important to share for someone, so i will.  Whoever you are, know that I care and that I want the best for you.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aspergers Girls  On December 29, 2012 at 5:14 am

    glad your dad is okay. 🙂

    Like

  • Aspergers Girls  On December 29, 2012 at 5:13 am

    I love the movie It’s a Wonderful Life. I watch it every Christmas. I am thankful for my keen mind, my heart, and spirit. I am thankful for friends and family, for shelter, warmth, and more comforts than I truly require. I am thankful for choices, the support of others, resources, and hope. I am thankful for the light of others and for all the beauty and mystery of this world. Great post. 🙂 Glad your computer room is getting in order. 🙂 (and chocolate)

    Like

  • bert0001  On December 27, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    Great your father is better. I will keep him in my prayers.

    Like

  • susielindau  On December 27, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    I am thankful for you Scott!
    I hope this next month is quieter!

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On December 27, 2012 at 3:13 pm

      Almost brings tears that you are thankful for me. This next month shows promise.
      You are wonderful!
      Scott

      Like

  • on thehomefrontandbeyond  On December 27, 2012 at 6:57 am

    Nice post – glad your dad is better. You were not all over the place–you nailed it when you said family friends and love are important

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On December 27, 2012 at 11:45 am

      Good to hear. I was very tired and it was late, so no telling what I wrote; I will have to go back and read it. 🙂

      Like

  • thehappyhugger  On December 27, 2012 at 1:18 am

    You’ve had quite a Christmas then, Scott. Just glad to see you’re posting again. Take care.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On December 27, 2012 at 1:50 am

      Thank you. Not my best post, by any means, but the thought was there and you saw that, you wonderful person.

      Like

  • Enchanted Seashells  On December 27, 2012 at 12:44 am

    I’m glad your dad is better. Best wishes for a healthy, happy new year!

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

