Why Do We Bother?

Well, looking at my stats, I received a whooping 10 views so far today (about 25 minutes to go).  Of course, I tried to blame myself and ask what I had done wrong.  Then, I realized that a view is just that, not reading, just going there.  So, what I had was a day in which nobody visited.  I guess part of it is because I live alone, but I took a bit to realize just how much the holiday probably played a part in that number.  I was still a bit surprised because there were even more at Christmas.  Then I remembered something someone said:  “People are home at Christmas.”  Yes, they are.  They are home and, at night, they still rev up the computer and do what they have been doing.  The day is done and relaxing is in order.

So, the title:  Why Do We Bother?  The question being why do we bother doing posts on days when people may well be gone and not look at all.  Isn’t this wasting time and energy?  Isn’t this just setting ourselves up for disappointment and discouragement?

I decided on three reasons.  If these are your reasons, then I understand why you do it, because it’s why I do it.

1)  It’s a promise or pledge.  I promised myself, you, and the spiritual world that I would do this and not miss a day for, at least, the first year.  I owe it to myself, you, and the spiritual world to keep that promise and write something worthwhile each and every day.

2)  It only takes one viewer to need to see what you wrote.  I don’t know how many times I have done something and thought it was a waste only to find out that one person really needed to hear, or see what I did.  Just one person is worth the time and effort to me.  God helps me to write these posts and He knows what is needed.

3)  It does me good.  Let’s face it:  I write these as much for myself as I do everyone else.  I don’t have big dreams of success here.  I have already surpassed what I thought would happen with my blog.  I have written my thoughts down, kept a promise, been steadfast, helped people, made friends, and had a few people smile.  What more could I really ask?

So, tonight, “why do I bother?”  I bother because of myself, others, and my spirit.  Seems good enough to me.

Namaste and Happy New Year,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Enchanted Seashells  On January 1, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    I was scared to look at my stats. I mean, my DIL made me do this blogging thing and I was so, I don’t care if anyone sees this to I want the world to love me and a publisher/producer will discover me and I’ll get famous. Oh crap, OK I’ll look. K? Happy New Year!

    Like

  • robincoyle  On December 31, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    I don’t see a mention here, but then I realized you said it is in your NYD post. I’ll watch for it. However, I see I am not following you. What the heck is up with that. Problem resolved.

    I blog because I get to chat with people like you!

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On December 31, 2012 at 11:55 pm

      There have been a few problems, just refollow. I have had to do that to a couple myself.
      Scott
      And thanks!

      Like

  • Madison Woods  On December 31, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    Last year was I strived for daily posts. It was exhausting but I managed to come fairly close to my goal with the exception of a few days of non-posting. Even though I no longer try to post daily, it was a good exercise and I’m glad I did it. The main thing it helped me with was learning to express myself better.

    Since passing on the Friday Fictioneer torch, my visitor count is considerably less and I knew this would be the case when I decided to pass it on. I knew also that it would bring a bit of “poor-me” when it kicked in, lol, so I was prepared for that too and let the experience happen and then moved past it.

    These days I still have posts that get no views on my stat counter. I tell myself that my readers have subscribed by RSS feeds and that’s why they don’t show up on stat counters 🙂 LOL, a little self-deception helps sometimes when the confidence is sagging. However it is true that no stat counter registers when posts are read via feed readers…

    Honestly, I write mostly for myself. Since I began blogging it not only has helped me with my writing, but most of all it has helped me with becoming more effective with communication in general.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On December 31, 2012 at 11:53 pm

      Well, I am, certainly, glad you post.
      I enjoy the ones I get to. I try to read all of everyone’s, but that is proving a little much,
      especially with daily posting.
      The future will tell. Right now, I hang in there.
      Scott

      Like

      • Madison Woods  On January 1, 2013 at 10:36 am

        You read a LOT of blog posts! My approach is scattered with that. I have a feed reader and scan post titles with excerpts but rarely get to read very many in full. When I do get to come to your blog, it’s always an interesting topic and I am glad to have stopped by.

        Like

  • mymendingwall  On December 31, 2012 at 2:45 am

    I’m so glad that I’m worth writing to you! You are definitely worth reading! Thanks for the smile that your post put on my face early, early this morning when I cannot sleep!

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On December 31, 2012 at 7:51 am

      Oh, I know that feeling so very well. It makes me smile just to know that, very early this morning, someone was reading and thinking my blog was worth the time.
      Scott

      Like

  • Marisa  On December 31, 2012 at 1:45 am

    I may not have the time to always comment something here on your blog Scott, but I read the majority of your posts (unless it’s a creepy scary one:) So, I’m glad you bother because you’re an inspiration to me. Don’t get discouraged and always remember why we blog in the first place. It’s our journey and if others choose to join us, well… That’s awesome! If not, that’s okay too. It isn’t about the numbers, prestige, or money, but rather our spiritual growth along the way. God will place in our path those who need to be there.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On December 31, 2012 at 7:50 am

      Very well said, Marisa. I agree whole-heartedly with you. I have been rather tired of late, so, if it sounded off, well I am getting better. 🙂
      Love you, Friend…say “Hey!” to Ron for me.
      Scott

      Like

  • magsx2  On December 31, 2012 at 12:13 am

    Hi,
    Seems you have added a few more to the stats. 🙂
    Happy New Year to you and your family, and I will be looking forward to reading your posts in 2013. 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On December 31, 2012 at 1:28 am

      Makes me happy to have you back among us.
      When you start posting again, I intend to start reading!

      Like

      • magsx2  On December 31, 2012 at 1:32 am

        It seems the yearly WordPress stats are out and about, you should check your e-mail to see if yours has come through yet, sometimes it goes into spam. WordPress always do a nice job putting the yearly stats together.

        Like

  • susielindau  On December 31, 2012 at 12:01 am

    I am number 11! Yay!

    Like

  • Seyi sandra  On December 30, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    Happy New Year to you my friend!

    Like

  • behindthemaskofabuse  On December 30, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    I blog becasue I like too. 🙂

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

J.M. Williams

A home for all things fantasy and sci-fi.

mrgoodquote

All that you need is here ! 😉

Making it write

mostly poetry, partly peculiar.

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

