New Year’s What?

I am a bit slow, but I thought that, before the entire season is gone, I would talk a bit about resolutions.  Now, I have read many posts on them in the last two weeks and I have commented a lot.  But, I have not gone and done this myself.  Two reasons:  First, I never really make them.  I used to, but, as normal, they didn’t get done.  Secondly, I agree with a lot of others:  we don’t look at the idea right.  Let’s peek at these two items.

I used to make resolutions every year.  “This year, I will…” and follow it with how much weight will come off, how I will run a certain amount each day or week (why we make that type of decision in the winter is beyond me), or what foods I will or won’t eat.  Then, by February (if I am good) those resolutions are not happening and I am doing, mostly, what I did before.

I don’t think the question is so much what I choose to make my resolution on, but more on the idea that the resolution creates in my mind as I go into the new year.  The mere fact that I had to change something is not going to resonate with me right after Christmas.  How many of you have packed it on for Christmas and New Years to make the declaration New Year’s Eve (with that high carb drink in hand to wash down the brownies and fudge) that “I will lose 20 pounds next year”?  My opinion:  you could’ve lost 8-10 pounds if you had held off on Christmas and New Years.  But, that is my point.  Changing something right after a holiday is dumb if it has anything to do with food or exercise.

Next, I do think our attitudes have a lot to do with it all.  If you change something begrudgingly what’s the chances you are going to do it?  If your boss orders you to do something totally different than how you have done it for years, you do it so you won’t be fired.  Right?  Well, what’s the difference?  You didn’t want to do that and now you want to do this one?  I don’t think so.  I don’t think the whole idea of changing something(s) major is a good idea.  I believe we need to do the “baby step” thing.  Let’s look at an example or two of that.

Let’s do the weight loss thing.  “I want to …” now, don’t say lose or exercise after that.  Here’s an idea.  Say, “I want to…”

skip dessert 1 time a week.

drink 1 less soda per every 3 days.

have regular coffee and not a latte 2 days a week.

play 3 games of tennis on the Wii 3 days a week.

Now, here’s the thing:  I don’t know about the Wii, but a dessert is about 300-400 calories.  Once a week is 52 x 350 is 18, 200 calories a year which equals about 6 pounds.   That’s pretty good for just dropping 1 dessert a week.  Same for a soda.  Here’s a great idea:  resolve to drink water instead of a latte (ok, tea if you have to) just twice a week.  That should still do 3-4 pounds a year.

I think this is what gets people down.  If you did all four of those ideas mentioned above, I would say that is about 15 pounds a year and, perhaps, another 2 for the Wii.  That’s about 17 pounds!  Cool.  What happens, though, is that, at year-end, you may have gone up 1-2 pounds.  Then, your head kicks in and gripes at you.  You didn’t lost 17 pounds; you gained 2.  What you need to really tell yourself right then is that you should have gained 19 pounds, but only gained 2.  Now, the next year, do a couple of more small things.  Make them small; they still count.  Longer is not forever.  If you only gain 2 the first year and then none the second, and lose 2 the third, that’s like not gaining for 3 years!

I am told that we are more likely to stick with small changes for a lot longer (maybe our whole life) than if we try big changes.  I think I can agree with that.  I had a period where, over about 2 years, I lost 63 pounds, had a flat stomach, walked at least 4 miles a day, and played volleyball 7 days a week.  People, I was in good shape; I felt good, too.  Problem was that I made that big change, then made another one (got married), and the second one shorted out the first one.  I lost the 63 pounds, then gained it all back and a few in about 5 years.

It has been about 12-15 years since that time.  I have lost about 2/5 of that weight again.  A lot of that is because I had to changed my diet after the stroke.  That was a forced major change, but it has been a forever change.  I still choose to lose more weight, but I have put it at 5 more pounds somewhere down the road.  Now, if I go and gain 10 pounds, now I would have to lose 15.  So, I don’t.  My diet and lifestyle keep me back and forth about 2 pound range.  I can do it because I am used to it.  I am not going to stop and start my eating habits.   That’s my difference.  We just need to do that with all our “resolutions”: small and slow.

That’s my take on it all.  This year my resolutions have been very mild.  I would like to:

1)  Continue posting every day if I can

2)  Watch some of the movies I own and haven’t watched

3)  Continue writing horror short stories and submitting them on a timely basis.

4)  Continue watching my carbs and keeping my blood sugar and blood pressure down.

That’s pretty much it.  Those four items will keep me happy, in touch with the world and my friends, and working toward my goal of publishing selling more stories.  How about you?

Aren’t there some small things you can promise to do and then, actually, do them?

KISS – Keep it Simple Stupid is a very good rule of thumb.

I want to see you all succeed!

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Debra Kristi  On January 7, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    I haven’t taken the time to work out my goals (that’s what I call them) yet as I took the first week or so off to spend with the family. So you’re not the only one coming in late with a post like this. I haven’t done mine yet. At the rate I’m going, mine may not happen. LOL. But I think you’re on the right track. Keep it simple so it’s easy to follow. Too complicated and… well, you know the story. Congratulations on your first publication due out later this week. Very exciting. I”m jealous of all the time you appear to have for writing, reading and television viewing.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On January 8, 2013 at 12:45 am

      Well, it’s easy…have a stroke so you can’t run, work, or do most of what you used to do…hmm, never mind, how about I be jealous that you get to do what you do?
      Everyone’s life is the envy of someone else.
      My post for tomorrow.
      Scott

      Like

      • Debra Kristi  On January 8, 2013 at 1:30 am

        Well said, Scott. I never get to sit down. As soon as I do I’m call to help with something by a youngster. It’s part of being a mom. Homework that should take twenty minutes takes an hour and a half. Ugh! I have my frustrating moments, but they are all worth it. Now you’re going to touch lives in a way you’d never thought of before. Life has a strange way of working out like that.

        Like

        • kindredspirit23  On January 8, 2013 at 1:16 pm

          It truly does – one of the big points of my blog.
          Thanks. I enjoy reading your posts. Take care of the kids, but don’t let the posts slip into nothingness.

          Like

  • robincoyle  On January 7, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    Specificity helps in all aspects of life, not just resolutions. Hence, my to-do list is miles long!

    Like

  • thehappyhugger  On January 7, 2013 at 8:54 am

    I’m also trying to keep things simple 🙂
    Hope you publish and sell more stories, Scott 🙂

    Like

  • Indira  On January 7, 2013 at 4:30 am

    Hi Scott, A very Happy New Year to you. I don’t make resolution but if you make up your mind to do something or not to do something, you will succeed anyway. Wish you all the success in keeping all your resolutions.

    Like

  • magsx2  On January 7, 2013 at 12:27 am

    Hi,
    I don’t make resolutions, but I think your idea of keeping it simple is spot on, much easier to try and accomplish something if it is kept simple.

    Like

  • Kitt Crescendo  On January 6, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    We have something in common! 3 of the 4 goals of yours are mine, too! The only one I don’t share is 3…and even that…it’s just a little different. Mine will be erotic romance rather than horror.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On January 7, 2013 at 2:21 am

      That’s really great! We have to keep in touch and make certain we are both working on them.

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

UpLift Girl

...a girl's guide to navigating the crazy journey of life and faith.

The Step Back

Accepted wisdom is an oxymoron. Challenge your assumptions.

Jellico's Stationhouse

Come on in and sit a while...

priorhouse blog

Photos, art - and a little bit of LIT.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Sound Bite Fiction

where nothing is quite what it seems

Autumn Leaves

For those who enjoy fiction

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

