Wouldn’t It Be Nice?

I was watching “Star Trek” (the first of the brand new ones) again tonight.  As it all played out, I began thinking how nice it would be to be able to change branches and head off toward a new future.  I have always thought it would be nice to take my mind now (not my brain, but my mind) and put it back in, say, me at age 10 or 8 or even the first day of school.  I  have had a lot of people say no, make it 16 or 18, or even 30, but not that young.  But I say I want a head start into it all.  If I know everything I know now and I go back to that young, I could begin eating better and exercising better and writing sooner.  I know I would have to fake being young a lot.  After all, can’t be too smart as a 2nd grader or your whole life does change.  But I could read more and spend my time doing things a bit differently.  By the time I do get to high school, I should be doing well in whatever.

But, truth be known, what I would really, truly do, would be to save.  That’s right, save those pennies, nickles, and dimes from first grade through high school.  And, I would work in high school and earn money doing different things.  My goal:  have a few thousand saved by the time I am in college (and beyond) and start playing the stock market.  I would know that Microsoft, Amazon, and Google would the places to place your money in as soon as they started.  I would know to put money in Chrysler at $3.00 and sell it at $32.00.  I would know that Amazon would go from a couple of cents a share to well over $300 a share.  Just think if I could invest $3000 in Google at $0.02 a share and sell it at even $200.00 a share that would be Thirty Million dollars minus some management fees and taxes.  I would still clear over $12,000,000!

I live some of this because I knew that Chrysler would not fall apart back then.  I came so close to borrowing money to buy it at $3.00.  And I would have sold it around $20.  $5000 dollars in that rate would still have been over $30,000.  Not millions, but still…nice.

That all being said, I know that I am glad things are as they are.  I am not a millionaire, but they have problems too.  As I said to someone a while ago, if you watch “Arrow” on TV you notice that the billionaires all live under one roof and have to hire protection.  I don’t know that I would enjoy that life at all (but, I would be willing to try it).  I also know that I would not go through two bad marriages, but I would also not get to raise my children.  Having those memories would not be the same as getting to see them.  I do love my life.  It’s not perfect, but I am not sure I would really want it to be.  Perfection to one is unique; it would be meaningless to someone else.  Millionaires have problems; so do great marriages; so do wonderful parents.  What is important is how you live your life and that you DO LIVE YOUR LIFE!  Love living it!  Since it is the only one you have, why not enjoy it?

That’s my thoughts on the matter.  What are yours?  As it used to be said, “Inquiring Minds Want to Know”.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

