A Riveting Review – Not!

I am trying out Amazon Prime this month.  I got rid of Cable awhile ago and have been using Hulu Plus.  For those of you who don’t know, Hulu Plus is available on http://www.hulu.com and has some really great programming choices for watching on your computer.  If you want to watch it on TV, you need 3 things:

1) A Roku box – hooks your TV to your wireless

2) Wireless (duh?)

3) A subscription to Hulu Plus

They had trouble accepting my PayPal account payments.  I have gone back and forth with one of their reps for several weeks.  Although he was very nice about it and I would recommend it to others, I decided enough was enough and had it shut off.

I still love my Roku box and it allows me a lot of versatility.  However, I wanted to be able to use something besides my Amazon account to rent movies.  The Amazon account has been advertising Amazon Prime and I decided the one month free was a good price to check it out on.

Amazon Prime allows you to watch without cost hundreds of movies listed in their Prime section.  Some of these are newer, but a lot of them are movies you may never have heard of.  I will get to that in a second.  They also have seasons of many TV shows.  I am watching Season 1 of “Falling Skies”.  That one is pretty good.  The cost for Amazon Prime is $79 per year.  It also gives you a discount on some of the Amazon shipping services and a few other things.  Check it out on the site http://www.Amazon.com.

Getting to the nitty-gritty of today, I wanted to try out a few more of the movies on Prime.  I went through the indexes for several hundred last night and flagged several to look at today.  Now, understand that I am a fan of “B” movies and that I will sit through a movie, once started, for the slimmest of reasons.  The first movie I chose today to watch was an independent film.  I normally love to see how these low-budget films go.  However, in this case, I am going to ask that you not judge me on the film.  It was free, independent, and unknown.  It was called “Bimbos B.C.”  Yes, yes, I know…but the description of the movie and the genre (horror) led me to believe it was a monster film.  Horror-ible was the better word.  I am only allowing you to know that I actually decided on this film for two reasons:

1)  It was so bad, it was funny

2) I only watched about 20 minutes of it (I just couldn’t take anymore)

So, here is the deal:  The film had the name B.C. in it, so I am thinking “cave people, dinosaurs, etc…”.  The film takes place in the future AFTER a chemical catastrophe in the US.  The actors (and that word here should be used very loosely) were dressed in possible left-overs from other films.  The acting was bad, the script was terrible, and I just couldn’t take it.  One “action” scene was a zombie-like creature who found AN OPEN DOOR in the fortress (which was a high school) and walked right in!  Two women warriors searched for him and found him in the kitchen.  I found it remarkable that there were no guards and that the film, supposedly in the future after a chemical disaster, was shot in a spotless kitchen with all of the appliances and dishes and silverware in perfect condition and not being used!  The warriors were joined by two others who helped them to kill the monster by chopping off its arm and then pulling it apart with their bare hands.  They had weapons!

The “queen” of this outfit was out on a hunting mission BY HERSELF and was bitten by a human bird thing.  She manages to crawl all the way back to the fortress where a guard (where was the guard when the other creature walked in?) sees her and they take her to the doctor.  The conversation that took place there was general stuff all the while their queen, lying right next to them on the floor, is dying.

I would like to tell you what happened next, but, unless something really weird overtakes me (it has happened before) I will not be watching anymore of it…

Short post tonight, but I need to save my energy for more of these uplifting films!

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Trackbacks

  • By Great Day! « Kindredspirit23's Blog on January 20, 2013 at 2:00 am

    […] yesterday, in what was arguably my worst received post in months (A Riveting Review – Not!) with 37 views, 7 likes, and no comments, I would like to think I listen to my readers.  So, I […]

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

