Tonight, I am reblogging one of Sam’s best posts (in my opinion). As I said in a comment there, doctors should read this to figure out how to help Aspies instead of using their manuals. She is so very honest and open and, well, has it, for Gosh sakes! She oughta know…
Read it! Namaste, Scott

Everyday Asperger's

1. Exposure Therapy:

For years and years I thought if I just socialized more, if I just connected more, and tried harder to be like everyone else, my endurance level for social gatherings would improve and my anxiety levels would decrease. I believed that through repeated exposure that things would get better. That hasn’t happened.

I don’t have a fear and/or phobia to any one thing or event; therefore there is nothing I can focus on overcoming or having less fear about. My anxiety isn’t caused by anything I can pinpoint. My anxiety is caused by the way I process the stimuli in my environment and the way I respond to my surroundings. I am hyper-aware and my senses are turned up to the highest degree. I am also, despite self-training and studies, unsure of how to act in a social gathering, (e.g, how much to share, when to…

View original post 2,701 more words

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Indira  On January 30, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    I also read Sam’s blog and like very much. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

Blog Me This....

A few of my random thoughts from my journey

Life lessons

This site is all about enlightenment

UpLift Girl

...a girl's guide to navigating the crazy journey of life and faith.

The Step Back

Accepted wisdom is an oxymoron. Challenge your assumptions.

Jellico's Stationhouse

Come on in and sit a while...

priorhouse blog

Photos, art - and a little bit of LIT.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

