4:44

I watched an interesting movie today:  4:44 (R-rated, um not for the kiddies and, no, the picture above is not from the movie – I just liked it!).

It is an apocalyptic movie.  I love those.  It stars Willem Defoe and Shanyn Leigh.   You know by now that I don’t like spoilers, so I will not tell you the end at all.  As for the rest, you would have to watch it and then there might be spoilers, but it is like that.  You just don’t know what you might get out of it and what you might concentrate on while you watch.

The movie is about Al Gore (wow!) being right.  The ozone layer falls completely apart, basically, or will, at 4:44Am.  The movie is mostly about Willem and Shanyn, a Bohemian couple who learn a lot about themselves and each other as the time approaches.

What fascinated me was the concept that, not only did we know within seconds when the world would end, but it was almost totally accepted.  No major person was denying it.  It was what it was and couldn’t be stopped.  Therefore, everyone did things knowing there was no tomorrow.  Oh, there were some in denial, Willem’s ex-wife, for instance.  However, almost all people had this aire about them that just said, “Tomorrow is not coming for me.”

It was not a horribly fast-paced movie.  That wasn’t what this was about.  I had trouble focusing on it a lot because I kept thinking about what I might do if I truly knew.  I mean, think about it, we are done.  There will not be tomorrow, so just live for this one day.

What would you do?

What would you do differently?

Who would you want to be with?

What would you say?

All of this kept going through my head.  Once acceptance to a certain death sets in, I think you have an entirely different perspective.  You know, so there is no escaping it.  I wonder if you live more or less.

I know I would deal better with it now than I would have before the stroke.  I understand death better than I did then and I am not, particularly, afraid of it.  I don’t want it to come, but if it was coming, I would hope I could handle it better.

It is a 2012 movie, but seems older.  The filming looked older.  I give it 3 1/2 stars.  I enjoy a bit more action in a movie.  This one was almost straight drama.  Good, but not totally my cup of tea.  If you like a good story plot and development as well as thought-provoking scenes…watch it.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Indira  On February 28, 2013 at 1:34 am

    That picture is very beautiful.

    Like

  • firefliesandfairies  On February 24, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    I really enjoy these types of movies too. Have you seen the preview for the movie “World War Z?”. Looks amazing!

    Like

  • Lostbythesea  On February 24, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    I don’t usually go for Apocalyptic films, but I will give this one a go. Perhaps it’s a movie everyone needs to see, because it is more than evident we are slipping down a fast melting iceberg. I haven’t a fear of death, unless of course, it’s an agonizing-drawn out affair. I think the nay-sayers of pollution/climate change/peace don’t think it’s all real or are in total denial, therefore they do little to bring about the changes we and our planet need to survive. Thanks again for a thought provoking Blog. 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On February 24, 2013 at 9:23 pm

      You are welcome and I agree, but also add that a lot of the people who could make the big changes refuse to do so. Denial or not real, part of it for them comes down to money. They want all of us to make many changes when their one big change could make much more difference – (steps down from soap box)

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

J.M. Williams

A home for all things fantasy and sci-fi.

mrgoodquote

All that you need is here ! 😉

Making it write

mostly poetry, partly peculiar.

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

