However You Say It, Mean It…

Ok, first things first.  I want you to smile.  So, next time someone asks how your day has been, I want you to compare it to:

It makes my days seem so much better!

_________________________________

Ok, on with the post.

I walked by my bookshelf tonight and my eye spotted a book.  I knew I had the book; I have even read a good part of it, but it “called” to me.  Perhaps, it was because I have been thinking about relationships (and my lack thereof) or just thinking about how I am.  Regardless, (see Rich, I think I used it correctly?!) the book got in my head and wouldn’t leave until I decided to pull it from the shelf and base a post on it.

The book?  “10,000 ways to say i love you” by Gregory J.P. Godek.  What I decided was that I would browse some of the pages and pull out the 10-15 that I liked best.  I know I won’t read all 10,000, but a sampling will suffice.

For you men, let me know if you have ever said any of the ones I mention or if there is a very special way you have said it.

Ladies, let me know what is the most special way it has been said to you and what is the best way you can think of having it said to you.

If you would like, click on the pic to go to the Amazon page.

(drum roll)

1) Change one bad habit

2) Hide a pair of earrings in a box of chocolates (wow! A Forest Gump way!)

3) View romance as “Adult Play”

4) Leave written clues that lead him/her to a restaurant where you are waiting.

5) Believe in your partner.

6) Commit yourselves to having more fun together.

7) Roll up the rug and dance together at home.

8) Divorce. Divorce yourself from the many distractions that keep you from living your love.

9) Little things that have meaning to just the two of you.

10) Believe in magic.

11) Apologize after an argument.

12) Encourage your partner’s dreams.

13) Cherish the present (my part: consider her the present).

14) Add candles and massage oil.

15) Stop expecting your relationship (or yourself or your partner) to be perfect.

Well, I only made it through #350.  There were some that were a little more “risque” than I decided to put in here.  I am not a prude or ashamed, but those would be for another discussion entirely.  I looked back and realized that the list would tell you a bit about me or, at least, about the relationships I have had.  I liked all of those choices.  They stood out in the book for me.  If you do those 15 things (or any 10 of them), I imagine you would see an improvement in your relationship almost regardless of how it is now.  Those are just fabulous things.

So, how about it?  What do you have to say?  How do you say it?

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Binky  On February 26, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    Just admit she is right. It’ll be easier that way.

    Like

  • robincoyle  On February 25, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    The way I say love is by listening. The way I feel love is by being heard.

    Like

  • thehappyhugger  On February 25, 2013 at 11:32 am

    I don’t usually fall for the sugary stuff to be quite honest, I think everyday actions and respect speak louder than words 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On February 25, 2013 at 11:42 am

      Interesting take, so you would be one to like someone doing something small for you each day to remind you they care (as long as they showed it other times)?

      Like

  • behindthemaskofabuse  On February 25, 2013 at 1:08 am

    From Hubby I think the biggest one for me is when he gives me a card and he has written even a sentence in it of his own…he doesn’t do cards. On my birthday I found a card waiting for me at the breakfast table and I opened it and cried, we had agreed not to do gifts, but i got a card that was huge…then late he surprised me with a cake and a gift…i still have the card.

    Apology after a fight is good too, he doesn’t do that easily.

    Like

  • combs2jc  On February 24, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    3,5,9,10,11,12,14, and 15. Also, I found a coupon book with romantic coupons in it, you know “goodfers”. I used to put them into cards for her. With my first wife (I have one ex-wife and one on the way) I sent her flowers to work each month on our anniversary date (29th), until she told me to stop because her co-workers were making fun of her. If I ever do that again I won’t stop. I’ll just give each of her co-workers a single rose once and then walk in and give them a hard time.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On February 25, 2013 at 1:46 am

      That’s all so great! I like doing the special things, but I guess mine two exes weren’t much for it.
      I agree, don’t stop next time.
      I think most women would love that stuff.
      And if you enjoy doing it like I do, they should like it even better!

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

