“We’ll be right Back!”

Commercials!  Don’t you just love hate tolerate …whatever?!  I mean really?

You are watching your favorite show and every 15-20 minutes you “lose” 5-7!  Argh!  Just think what all the “Walking Dead” could do in those extra 12 minutes or so.  The only exception on a consistent basis is those beloved Superbowl commercials!  This last time I don’t think I even watched the commercials.  Were you wondering like I might have that they could have done ALL the commercials while the power was out!!!? (I understand next year’s Superbowl will be sponsored by Motel 6 – they keep the lights on for you)

Anyway, I have started enjoying online streaming more and more, especially because the commercials are short and sweet.  I mean, 30-60 seconds every 15-20 minutes isn’t bad.  You can, actually, sit and enjoy the entire show.  “Pause” is available if you must go somewhere for a minute or two.  I know all these people love watching TWD on AMC but you have to purchase a package with that station and it has commercials, right?  I get the season on sale on Amazon.  It’s one day behind and it’s not that much.  Besides, if I read it right, I own the season now, so I can watch it later.

My First Grade Class.  That's me...your far left in the 3rd row.

My First Grade Class. That’s me…your far left in the 3rd row.

Growing up was different.  Only 4 stations to watch and the commercials had wonderful jingles and were cute and funny.  Sis and I were always joining in to help the other “sing” a commercial or say the slogans.  Today’s commercials are often very funny, but they simply don’t have the same “Zing” as the old ones.  Like these (8-9 min collection):

What started all of this?  Well, I was reading one of the blogs I follow, Joe C Combs 2nd for today, and saw the ad that appears in the box after most of the blogs.  You know which one I am talking about?  Right at the end.  It doesn’t run unless you click and, usually, I don’t.  But, for some reason today I did.  I laughed pretty hard and enjoyed this one enough to find it on YouTube.  You can enjoy it here, the Green Housewives:

Do you have a favorite old commercial?

How about a new one?

Just me being nosy.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • robincoyle  On March 2, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    Commercials are the reason I DVR the shows I watch. I don’t mind commercials if they are funny, thought provoking, or whatever, but most are not. The drug ads are the worst. I’m glad you suggested watching the “Green” ad. That is a good one!

    Like

  • 4amWriter  On March 2, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    Oh, I’m sure there are some old commercials I used to love. But of course I can’t think of them now. These days I always enjoy the Budweiser commercials with the Clydesdale horses. They make me cry.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On March 3, 2013 at 12:18 am

      There were some good ones of those.
      I enjoy the one where the horse is turned down, then trained by a dog so he makes it the next year.
      Scott

      Like

  • silentlyheardonce  On March 2, 2013 at 4:14 am

    Pop pop fizz fizz oh what a relief is. 🙂 Not that it was actually a favorite it’s just one I remember off the top of my head.

    Like

  • IdentifiedFlyingObjects  On March 2, 2013 at 12:45 am

    Very entertaining post Scott! I the jingle from the Ajax commercial, “Stronger than dirt!” Still runs through my head! I also love Netflix and streaming videos. Most of the time I watch on my iPad, as it is always visible from where I am most comfortable, unlike my televisions. Which is fine since I rarely watch anything on them, with the exception of Turner Classic Movies, PBS, Link and Free Speech TV. I’m getting close to cutting Dishnet loose and pocketing the extra $108.00 …
    very close! Oh do you recall the Saturday Night classic parody on the whipped topping that was also a floor wax? OMG it had me in stitches back then. Keep up your great Blogs, I don’t always have time to comment, but thoroughly enjoy them! 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On March 2, 2013 at 9:15 am

      I will have to plead pathetic ignorance here. I only watched SNL once or twice.
      I do know that the one you talked of HAD to be funny! I wonder if I can find that one on YouTube?
      It’s good to know that my blog posts are read even when comments are made due to time. I understand that!
      Thanks,
      Scott

      Like

  • behindthemaskofabuse  On March 2, 2013 at 12:44 am

    the old Dare cookie one

    “The most frustrating thing, the think that you hate about life when you’re just 3 foot 8, is it’s one inch to far to the Dad’s cookie jar, you keep tryin, and tryin and tryin…but it’s one inch to far to the Dad’s cookie jar…Life must be fine when you reach 3 foot 9”

    Oh and the Smarties one: “When you eat your Smarties do you eat the red ones last…”

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On March 2, 2013 at 9:48 am

      Don’t remember Dare, but do remember Smarties.
      Lol – memories are good for a lot of things. I am glad you had some good ones to go with the other side.
      There, truly, is hope.
      Scott

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

