Who Me? I’m Not Afraid!

Nope, not me, I never did THAT!

Yesterday, I talked about my work as a security guard in closing down a theft ring in our company.  There were other less important, but just as exciting jobs and circumstances that I  had to suffer through, deal with as a security guard.  In many ways it was one of my very favorite jobs.  However, there were times…

I began my duties on third shift.  We had 8 buildings to guard and 4 of them were empty during my shift; 7 of them empty on weekends.  So, a lot of the time, I was walking through totally empty (I hoped) buildings in the dark.  I had a flashlight and it was a good one, however, I did enjoy horror movies and stories.  Coupled with the dark and the circumstances…you get the idea.

Yeah, but minus the guy and all the lights!!!

One of our buildings was right next to a set of railroad tracks.  These tracks were well-used all through the night.  I didn’t mind the noise of the train.  Silence is often eerie and the train’s noises on the track and the whistles would break up that dreaded silence.  In fact, it got to the point, for me, that I blocked out the train’s noises nearly completely.  That, was a bad thing, it turned out.

This building was also extra dark.  Every single light was turned off inside when people were not there.  It was very nearly pitch dark.  You know, that type of darkness that seems to suck in the light; that type of darkness you often see on the horror movies.

Our main concern was checking for broken pipes or lights left on, things of that nature.  Sure, we were to check for theft and such, but a lot of that would be evident from tampering on the outside of the building or just inside the door (ie. noises).

Anyway, my duty on that round would be to punch in the detex watchclock (I carried a round timer in my hand.  I would go to a spot in the building that had a small key and I would turn it in the timer.  This would record what time I was at that station.).  There was really only one in this building, but we would always walk the inside perimeter just to make sure.

I was walking this route in the deep dark once night and the train went by.  As I have said, I almost didn’t hear it anymore.  I was on the far side of the building and the train’s vibrations shook a box of fasteners off the shelf.  The box of fasteners shattered the, otherwise, silent atmosphere of the building.  I managed not to wet myself, but, not knowing what the noise was, I hid behind a pallet of boxes and waited a good ten minutes before venturing out.  I found the broken box of fasteners, cleaned it up a bit, and figured out what had happened.

From that time onward, since I was supposed to be the only one in the building, I would walk in the door, close it, and scream at the top of my lungs, then listen for any other noise that might be someone else.

The closest I ever had to any real problems in that building was when checking the second floor once.  We had to check it out in the winter to make certain none of the pipes had burst.  The second floor consisted of old, unused office rooms with doors.  I remember opening one door and being hit in the face.  I grabbed my mace and sprayed the intruder, who turned out to be a pigeon or dove who had gotten stuck upstairs and was sitting on the door when I opened it.  It had dropped to the floor and I carried it outside.  For those of you who don’t know, mace, I guess, only works on this type of bird for about two minutes.  I had not completely gotten it to where I was going to let it go when it woke up and began flapping in my face!  It seemed about the size of a car at that moment, though it was not very huge at all.

Life as a security guard – what fun!

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • bert0001  On March 12, 2013 at 6:46 am

    … birds … what about bats?

    Like

  • behindthemaskofabuse  On March 12, 2013 at 12:14 am

    ahaha you maced a bird!

    Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On March 11, 2013 at 10:28 pm

    I am scared of birds, enjoying their vibrant colours and lovely chirps from a distance is one thing but when they walk in my house which they do often i call my daughter or husband or whoever is near to rescue me lol

    that was a scary experience you have had..also you write up reminded me of that movie Mirror.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On March 11, 2013 at 11:17 pm

      Hmm, interesting comparison.
      There is a movie then, that you should not watch, “Dead Birds”. Not particularly about birds, but still…

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

