“You Should Go to Church”

It doesn’t matter where you are.

The title was something my Mom said to me today.   Setting:  in the hospital, after their minister (mine, too, I guess) had visited Dad.  I was leaving for home; Mom was walking me out.  She said this, not in anger, just in passing.  I don’t remember the entire conversation, but here are my thoughts:

I don’t see anything wrong with going to church.  For many people it is a time to rejoice, be with friends, and celebrate God.  Nothing wrong with any of that.  For others, it is a time to be introspective, learn about their religion’s beliefs, and give them time to pray in public.  Nothing wrong with any of that.

For me, it would, mostly, be a waste of my time.  It’s not that I don’t have strong beliefs; I do.  It’s not that I don’t pray; I do – a lot.  It’s not that I don’t want to be introspective; I do and I am.

However, church does not hold much for me, anymore.  It’s isn’t that I have outgrown it or anything; I am just in a different place.   I enjoy all my time now, and all of it is with God to one degree or another.  I see church as a place to concentrate on God and to be with Him.  I do that at home or out anywhere else.  I pray when I feel like it; it is a communication for me; a talking, not a specific ritual.  God and I talk; we converse; I make my needs and thoughts known; He responds.  He “speaks” in my head, through my conscience, my inner discussions.  I learn through these and through experiences as well as through watching the world and listening.

You all are a part of my learning process.  I learn through each and every post you do; I see your worlds, your lives, your people, everything about you that you put out for me to see.  I learn from the short poem about the bridge to the 5-6 page thought-provoking tour of your psyche you might present each day.  It has to be that way or else I could never get through following 80+ blogs a week.

Your lives are important to me and though I can’t quote you or your stories well all the time, I still know who you are and what you are like when I am in the midst of your stories and truths and trials.  I immerse myself in life and in your lives.  Vicarious living is fun and exciting and a learning experience as well as anything else.

I play video games and I learn about life there, too.  The people who write those (at least, the ones I play) are people who create rules and environments and then allow you, through your character, to interact and live a life with consequences.  Dying means getting another chance to try – that is a learning experience, too.

So, without excuses, I don’t go to church.  Life is my church; I am kinda always there.  I like it this way.  I try to share back with you and with others whose lives I come into contact with.  I intend to increase all of this and extend both my reach and my learning.

If you aren’t getting all of this out of life, it’s not because it isn’t there – please just wake up and start.  Church or no church, life is there and is good and has all kinds of experiences for you.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • robincoyle  On March 20, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    How is your dad doing?

    I don’t go to church but I feel a spiritual connection to Mother Nature when I am IN nature . . . the prettiest cathedral ever.

    Like

  • jonathanhilton  On March 20, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    I feel the same way about church. God and I have never been closer.

    Like

  • bobmielke  On March 20, 2013 at 10:11 am

    I am a single 63 year old retired man. I accepted Jesus into my heart in 1979 and never regretted it. He has been my constant companion, confessor and Savior. The Holy Spirit guides my Christian walk, keeping me on strait street.

    During my critical years as a Christian I attended a vibrant dynamic Vineyard denomination church. The bible came alive in that environment of believers that shared their needs, their testimonies and their opinions. We had an exciting men’s bible study each week that taught me the bible was more than just another book. It became alive for me.

    Two years passed as our congregation grew. Our dynamic pastor, known as pastor Pete, fell from grace with an affair with the music minister’s wife. He resigned as our shepherd just two days before Easter. The church folded 3 months later and closed its doors forever.

    I wandered for years trying to fins another home church that could come close to the Vineyard church I had loved sio much. It was impossible to match their spirit. That was 8 years ago and I’m still wandering, looking for a church body filled with the Holy Spirit. – Bob

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On March 20, 2013 at 10:06 pm

      Bob,
      The church I attended growing up went through a major catastrophe within itself a few years ago. It has not folded but has lost most of its members and attendance.
      I am glad to hear you have come to an acceptance of spirit that you can hold close and believe in.
      So have I.
      I wish you great success in finding another church that can help keep you filled as you wish.
      Sincerely,
      Scott L Vannatter

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

