Just a Spoonful of Sugar…(don’t look at me; I’m diabetic)

Yeah, funny…maybe not quite that funny!

I picked Mom up this morning and we both braved the bitter cold to head to the hospital and get Dad.  He was supposed to be discharged today (and was).  He has been told now that he has a bit of congestive heart failure and a bit of renal failure.  Armed with that information, new meds, and a good amount of faith, we all went home.  I took them to their home, helped Dad get his medicines squared away, made a couple of calls for him, and went home to relax.

After relaxing for a couple of hours my best friend and I went out to eat.  We had a good time and I unwound.  I came home and entered a Facebook Fantasy NCAA bracket contest.  I am utterly horrible at these, but it was free and easy to fill out.

Now, I sit here, filling out this post and realizing I am too flippin’ tired to do it.  I had good intentions several hours ago, but the steam has fizzled.  I will attempt to gain just a little of the zeal back by saying that today showed me a lot of what I have going for myself.

In the hospital, I notice how sad most people are.  It’s to be expected, of course, but still…

Now staff is all serious, but the nurses try to step out of that mold sometimes, and do manage it.  I, for one, am glad to see the giggles and the smiles from some of them.  If our attitude is supposed to be a big part of our health, I think it would be better for all concerned if doctors, surgeons, and such would develop a better sense of humor.  If I had to go to a hospital I would much rather it be one in which laughing could be heard at different times and places throughout.

Dad is home and resting.  He is very tired and has a lot to think about.  I would like to thank you all for your prayers and thoughts, and concerns throughout all this ordeal.  I know it is not over yet, probably only begun, but it is nice to know I have some supports to lean on.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Becki Duckworth  On March 24, 2013 at 2:01 am

    Scott I so agree, and the hospitals should have scent warmers in the hallways to make them smell better like lavender and vanilla something soothing .

    Like

  • Indira  On March 22, 2013 at 2:55 am

    Glad your dad is at home and resting. Don’t neglect your problem. Take care.

    Like

  • behindthemaskofabuse  On March 21, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    glad you’re Dad is home 🙂

    Like

  • Tadalena  On March 21, 2013 at 2:58 am

    Scott,

    If you want a hospital where the doctors are jovial and the staff entertaining, you should try Florida South Hospital in Orlando, Florida. It has an amazing pediatric wing. Being only a few minutes from Walt Disney World, The Walt Disney Pavilion is a perfect name to describe an amazing section of this enormous hospital. It’s fun, interactive, and offers so much in the way of eye candy as opposed the traditional or contemporary hospitals you see today. The foyer to the ped’s area has an oversize statue of the lovable character Baloo from The Jungle Book. The nurses are cordial and smile a lot. I had the pleasure of visiting that hospital yesterday. It was my second trip to the expansive establishment and worth the time spent. There is a lot to be said for an establishment that goes out of its way to spread some jolly cheer to its patients and yesterday was no exception. It was pirates and princesses day. Walking up and down the halls to the cafeteria to get my cousin her coffees, I counted a minimum of seven princesses and two pirates. It was great to see a hospital dedicated to offering up some whimsical fun to its patients. The surrounding area is cool too; if it were not for the gas station just outside the complex, I would have forgot that I walked those streets a couple of years ago. It must be the only gas station surrounded by decorative walls, masking the parking area and pumps. Maybe when I am done with nursing school and working towards my Bachelor’s, I’ll have the pleasure of working there too.

    PS:

    In a word, their Cancer Center is OUTSTANDING!!!

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

