Airport Security – A Joke? No, They are there for the Idiots

You know the drill.  Set all carry on items on the belt, take off your shoes, walk through the scanner.  I was held up at an airport security checkpoint last time I flew.  I had a hard time seeing what they were looking at, but, eventually, realized that my spare cell phone battery was the culprit.  Apparently, when it went through the scanner the flat, oddly-shaped item did not show through and it looked like a possible bomb.  After about 45 minutes, the security personnel, with little or no personality, allowed me to board.

I am told that is not an unusual story, in concept, among airlines today.  Since 911, I don’t blame them.  You are told to come to security 2 hours before boarding time to make certain you make the flight.  2 hours!  Seems long, but I guess that’s not too bad when you really think about it.  I just keep thinking of all the things they have to check for and the things that look like what they have to check for.

You think about it, how much of something does it take to critically injure an airplane?  I mean, if you really tried hard for the minimum, what does it take to drop a plane or to make it so scary no one wants to fly?

The article below is about the weirdest things TSA has found on people who fly.  Some of them are really strange.  It scares me to think of what probably used to be in the carry-on bags of people I flew with in years before this security.  If they are still trying to bring the below things on board, what did they actually bring on back then?

http://www.itworld.com/slideshow/88407/25-crazy-and-scary-things-tsa-has-found-travelers-344683?source=fkcarouseltsa#slide1

I have pretty well decided that, when I go to visit my son in Portland, OR, I am going to take the train.  It’s longer, but time is not very relevant to me.  The security will not be so intense that I can’t take my meds with me in my carry-on.  I can’t take a chance that my meds could be separated from me while I travel.  That is one big concern.  I will check what is looked for and all, but it sounds good to me; besides, the view should be excellent.

*****Before I go, I must take a moment and let you all know that the magazine editor for Atomic Avarice, the people who published my first story and I stated had not paid me, has contacted me.  It seems that the editor’s laptop and the site were hit by hackers and the magazine is, most likely, going to have to close.  The editor has not checked the site or all for months due to worries of allowing the hackers further access, so my letters there were not received, same for emails.  I found the physical address in the contract and did an old fashioned letter and stamp.  I received an apology this morning and am told I will be paid (even a little extra for my troubles) very soon.  I am so glad it all worked out, but I wish the magazine was still going to do future issues.

Anyway, I feel better setting the record right here.

_____________________________________________________

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • 4amWriter  On April 5, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    It’s taken me some creative thinking to adjust to the new security measures, but I’m okay with it. However, if I have an option to take the bus or train or drive over the plane, I will, for sheer convenience sake.

    I’m sorry about the magazine, but I am really glad you’ll be paid.

    Like

  • Larry  On April 4, 2013 at 12:32 am

    Im confused about the hacking part. Why was the mag editor afraid to go back to his own site? Please explain in depth as I really can’t make any sense of that part.

    Glad you got your remuneration and then some for your story.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 4, 2013 at 12:39 am

      The best I can understand is that they are worried that, if they go back to their magazine site, that the hackers may get back in and mess with their personal computers or where they work. I understand the problem. If you haven’t figured out how to keep the hackers out of your site, then you can’t go back in. I am not certain why they still can’t go in, but, if it hasn’t been secured, they can’t do it.
      I hope that helps.
      Scott

      Like

      • Larry  On April 4, 2013 at 12:59 am

        I don’t get hacking. I wouldn’t do it even if I knew how. If someone wants something from me they should just ask. I’m an open and generous person and would be happy to share. There is no need for someone to steal from me.

        Like

        • kindredspirit23  On April 4, 2013 at 1:03 am

          Lol – good for you, but I don’t think that companies feel that way about their secrets and their monies!
          Scott

          Like

  • Coleen Patrick  On April 3, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    My mom once got stopped and questioned for 30 min over a pair of nail clippers at the bottom of her purse. But my daughter got through security last year with mace pepper spray–which is attached to her key chain (she forgot it was there). Go figure, right?
    Sorry about the magazine and hacking–that really stinks.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 3, 2013 at 5:23 pm

      Lol – since, I assume the key chain went through the metal detector or the scanner, it’s not her fault – she was just lucky.
      Scott

      Like

  • Becki Duckworth  On April 3, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    Ok so one of my travel stories real quick… I was leaving Midway airport in Chicago to return to Portland. during my visit to Chicago my Aunt gave me a doll.This is one of those dolls that look like a real child, it even scared my cat who hates children when I returned home. Anyway I had a pink NIKE carry on bag that the doll was in. Wrapped in her blanket and real baby clothes. The pink NIKE bag goes through the scanner and I am asked to step aside for another check. In the meantime they are paging someone to that machine. Not just a security person but a police officer. They have the bag and ask me what is in it. Pretty soon there are 2 police officers. They thought the doll was a real baby. We had a good laugh. Sorry about the magazine. Glad to hear they are going to compensate you.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 3, 2013 at 3:32 pm

      Wow! Love that story! Would make a great post! hint hint

      Like

      • Becki Duckworth  On April 3, 2013 at 3:34 pm

        Yes it would, I am going to need some humor from the dark place I am headed with today’s post.

        Like

        • kindredspirit23  On April 3, 2013 at 3:36 pm

          Oh, well, go to YouTube and …. heck, type in most anything!

          Like

        • Becki Duckworth  On April 3, 2013 at 3:41 pm

          True, my favorite YouTube videos are David goes to the dentist and Honey Badger don’t care. I can watch those over and over and laugh till it hurts each time.

          Like

  • thehappyhugger  On April 3, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Well, I’m glad you will be paid. Pity about the hackers and the mag.

    Like

  • Unfortunately hacking has become a lucrative business for not only big business but small companies and individuals alike.

    Like

  • behindthemaskofabuse  On April 2, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    that’s crazy, i mean what people try to smuggle! i hate airports. i’m glad you got your magazine issue worked out, sorry it’s shutting down. 😦

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Free to express

thoughts, experiences, travel, feelings, stories, diaries and many more...

The Subjective Herald

"If audacity had a viewpoint —and a column—"

Girl Boner

Where Good Girls Go For Sexual Empowerment

Happiness Between Tails by da-AL

Arts + Cooking + Dancing + Joy + Writing + Tales + Tails

Nyssa's Hobbit Hole

Diary, Opinions, Passions, Fiction, Memoir

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

