Prompt: Third

My inspiration comes from the same place as “Hope the Happy Hugger

Todays Daily PromptHead to “Blogs I Follow” in the Reader. Scroll down to the third post in the list. Take the third sentence in the post, and work it into your own.

The third post on my blog roll was “I Survived a Murder Attack – My Family Didn’t“.  The third sentence in the post was:

“I made some tea and sat by the phone contemplating calling my Great Aunt, but I could not get up the strength to talk with her.”

My Post:

“I made some tea and sat by the phone contemplating calling my Great Aunt, but I could not get up the strength to talk with her.”  Difficult to work that into my post as I have never actually done that.  However, it did get me to thinking.  I have had times of great stress when I did call someone and that made a huge difference.

For instance, I had a great deal of trouble with life in general after my 2nd divorce.  I now lived in a busy town, had little furniture of my own, the bed was broken, I slept on the couch, lived in an apartment that – although close to work – probably should have been condemned, and had no really close friends around that I could spend a lot of time with.

This was a time of stress.  Almost daily, when I would get off work, I would walk.  I would walk until the panic attack stopped, sometimes, miles.  I would, usually, throw up at least once during the walk.  One night when my parents were coming down to pick me up, I could not take it anymore.  I called my first wife’s mother.  She and I had always been close (still are), and I needed to hear a nonthreatening, nonjudgmental voice.  We talked a bit.  After what seemed like awhile, I ended the call after thanking her, and curled up on the couch.  That is the way, pretty much, my parents found me.  I had flat-lined on my emotions and went to a stress center that night (They took me).

The two weeks at the center (would make another post) was a very helpful, enlightening endeavor.  It began the process that the stroke would end, that of growing up and realizing that God and I were in this together and that would be enough, if need be.  I don’t regret any of it; it was what was needed to get me to where I am now.

How about you?  Did you have an easy trip to where you are now?

Are you where you want to be?

Are you heading there at all?

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • KatrinaPerkins  On April 10, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    Any trip worth being on comes with Adventure. Always some good, and some downers – which in the end are the dark necessary to truly value the Light. Divorce can be incredibly frightening and un certain. In Reality- we only think we have certainly, we have “ideas and hopes” for the future, but truth be told I think plans only tickle God and result in disappointment or self-frustration. I know for me it has. Until I began to appreciate the uncertainty of it all, and the only honest definitive is the Divine trust we will make it through, whether we want to or not, one way or another- and becoming stronger is part of the journey. Thank you for sharing Scott, and querying 😀 OH and I second ‘TheHappyHugger’! Miss Maya Angelou is a great favorite!!

    Pure Happiness,
    Katrina E. Perkins

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 10, 2013 at 7:02 pm

      I would agree that uncertainty is both frustrating and a usual part of things.
      My belief that all things work together in the end, make the uncertainty more okay, because I know it doesn’t really matter in the end result. Since I have focused on that belief, I have felt calmer and happier.

      Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 10, 2013 at 7:04 pm

      By the way, I wrote a review for “Her Evil Sisters” on Amazon as Mouve E. Freake. Just so you know.

      Like

  • thehappyhugger  On April 8, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    I love that quotation too!

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

