Five Sentence Fiction – “Shadows” 4/25/2013

What it’s all about: Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week Lillie will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction.

This weekShadows

Don’t confuse this with Friday Fictioneers!  That is 100 words from a photo prompt.  Go here for that.  For FSF click on the above pic (after you read my story!).

__________________________________________________________

Dark Shadows

___________

Larry made a face at the stretched-out dark form which shook slightly on the wall in the fire light; his shadow made the same face back, mocking him.

The others sat in a semi-circle around Larry and snickered at his antics; he danced; the shadow danced; he jumped; the shadow jumped.

He smiled and turned quickly to the left, hearing the gasp from his viewers as the shadow remained facing forward.

Larry took a swing at the shadow and grimaced as his hand met the stone of the wall; he felt ridiculous.

He leaned forward to look deeply into the “face” of the shadow; it swelled and leaped from the wall, engulfing Larry before blending slowly into the darkness.

_____________________________________________________

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • K R Smith  On April 30, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    It would seem Larry isn’t much of a shadow boxer… Nice story!

    Like

  • A Mushy Rat  On April 30, 2013 at 8:04 am

    This reminded me of the animated version of the Peter Pan movie!

    Like

  • Barbara A Mizzoni Young  On April 27, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    Your tale mimics the way I feel about clowns. Like shadows, clowns are always around and devious. Well done!

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 27, 2013 at 10:35 pm

      I like clowns, for the most part, but they do frighten my daughter. She is older now; they may just make her uneasy.
      Scott

      Like

  • Jeanelaine  On April 26, 2013 at 7:06 pm

    Cool. Only the shadow knows… Or something LOL Liked your original take.

    Like

  • Sharry  On April 26, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    That’s more than a little creepily weird. Not a shadow I’d want to deal with.

    Like

  • thehappyhugger  On April 26, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    A bit scary but I liked it. I love your creative imagination, Scott 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 26, 2013 at 3:26 pm

      Hmm, not as scary as my normal vein. Thank you. I have always been told my imagination works overtime.

      Like

      • thehappyhugger  On April 26, 2013 at 3:27 pm

        I think it does, Scott, but that’s a good thing. I’m a bit too chicken for the real scary stuff 🙂

        Like

        • kindredspirit23  On April 26, 2013 at 3:29 pm

          I understand. My Sis doesn’t read what I write either.

          Like

        • thehappyhugger  On April 26, 2013 at 3:31 pm

          I read what you write because I like to see what your latest story is about – but I’m still chicken though. I do love your writing 🙂

          Like

        • kindredspirit23  On April 26, 2013 at 3:33 pm

          I don’t know if you can imagine how happy that makes me. Perhaps, a star of my future story (one who lives) should be “Hope”?

          Like

  • Grace Black  On April 26, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    Truly enjoyed this tale! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  • Becki Duckworth  On April 26, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    Oh Larry

    Like

  • julespaige  On April 26, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    Oh, this bit looks fun too. I remember Dark Shadows the Vamp TV series.
    Hunger waited in those shadows.
    After the end of this month I and daily poetic prompts I’ll have to come back for another look-see.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 26, 2013 at 3:24 pm

      Love to have you stop back by. Leave a comment so I know. I am thinking of a 4-part horror story based on one of my 100-word ones from a time ago. Someone wanted to see all that happened.
      I loved dark shadows; I think they ruined the idea of it with the remake movie.

      Like

  • indira2412  On April 26, 2013 at 3:16 am

    Scary but nice story. Just in five sentences a full story, amazing.

    Like

  • Maggie  On April 25, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    Nicely creepy. hehe

    Like

  • Soma Mukherjee  On April 25, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    Omg wow
    Scott i hope one day i get to watch all your amazing short thrillers on screen one day..we definitely need new horror/thrillers
    love love love your stories 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks

  • By The Question Remains… | Kindredspirit23's Blog on April 27, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    […] portion of the views went to my home/archive page, which was 106.  The bulk of the rest was for Five Sentence Fiction and Friday Fictioneers, which makes sense to […]

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

