What’s in a Word?

I was having a difficult time today.  I really could not decide what to blog about.  I have a list of about 7 different topics and none of them sounded just right.

I was going through my email tonight and saw “baby conservation”.  I thought, “conservation?  What the heck?”  I decided to click on it and, as I did, I saw my dyslexic thought – “baby conVERSATION!” Oh, now it makes sense!

See? What’s in a word?  A whole lot depending on the word.  I have more problems since the stroke.  I am guessing that my brain has to do just a bit more sorting at times in order to read.  I doubt if the patch helps matters any.  I find myself, frequently, turning something like “the red turnip” into “the read turnip”.  That one makes no sense, so my brain says, “Whoa!” and I retry it.  But, “Baby Conservation” made sense on some dumb video level, so it almost stuck.

Reading the posts I follow can get very interesting inside my head.  I have to go back frequently and look at something because I “know they would not have said that.”  Sure enough, I switched something.  It doesn’t happen so often that it causes me more than a few mild issues in a few days’ time.  It’s not frequent at all, but it can be overwhelmingly funny and I wish I had written them down for you.  Oh well, perhaps an oven day (yeah, that’s what I mean!).

Back to the clip.  This baby has her own language and is, apparently, very fluent.  She reminds me of Robert De Niro in “Cape Fear” when he was speaking in tongues near the end of the film.  It was a little spooky when I thought of that, but she won me over in the end.  It’s less than 2 minutes, please enjoy.

When I was getting that one from YouTube, I found this one which makes me really wonder who are the smart ones: us or them?

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • jmmcdowell  On April 27, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    I thought about the twins video when I started reading your post. I have no idea what they’re saying, but I know it has meaning to them!

    Like

  • thehappyhugger  On April 27, 2013 at 11:15 am

    Those babies are so cute. My little daughter watched the twins with me and of course she said “Thats cool!”

    Like

  • bert0001  On April 27, 2013 at 8:25 am

    Aren’t they cute. Especially when you only enjoy their funny side 🙂

    Like

  • John W. Howell  On April 27, 2013 at 8:16 am

    Very cleaver connection to what became a cleaver post. Well done

    Like

  • Indira  On April 27, 2013 at 5:10 am

    Lovely video,what she is taking about so fluently and confidently. lovely twins, obviously they are smart, they express without actually speaking any word. we fuss so much on correct word and grammar.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On April 27, 2013 at 9:47 am

      I have heard stories of “baby speak” where they may have a language that we don’t understand. I might buy it a little more on telepathy. There is a theory that we know so much then (but not language) and that we forget it as we grow older. Perhaps…

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

