Walmart, What?!

I found this article the other day.  I can’t even remember now how I found it.

http://www.cockeyed.com/citizen/get_it_together_walmart/get_it_together.html

After finishing it, well, that’s a lie – just a few pictures into it, I began to see that the person writing this article had some issues.  By the time I looked through all 100+ pictures he had collected of this “trashy” Walmart,  I could only shake my head and think, “You are either missing something upstairs or you have a tremendous grudge against Sam’s clan.

I am not going to go into long, tedious details about the pictures that this person found so utterly “trashy” that he would spend page after page on them.  It had to take a small fortune in time to simply down load and then comment on them.  Have you looked at, at least, the first dozen or so?  Do you see my point?

These pictures show nothing!  I mean, my driveway gets dirtier than a lot of these pictures of the outside of the building.  A cup?  A small, smashed food container?  OMG!  Call the police!  This is indescribably terrible!  A travesty.  Actually, the travesty is that I, actually, spent nearly 1/2 an hour looking through all this.  I even did most of it twice, trying to figure out what the problem was.

I figured, at first, that it must be the inside of the place that looks bad.  So, I continued on.  The inside of that Walmart is nice enough that I would be happy to shop in there.  There was one picture of a display that had a box, cut in half, lying on top of it.  Wow…that’s…horrible.

I mean, really, can’t you do better than that?!  Then the author went to two more stores and took pictures of the same thing!  It was a waste of time.  If you were a Walmart inspection team, yes, you would write these things up.  You would, as part of the Walmart force, tell the store to clean up the toothpick on aisle 7 or whatever.  But, to come in from the outside, take over 100 pictures of 3 stores and proclaim them to be totally unfit as a store?  Get real!

If this article really wanted to make an impression, then he needed to come back 2-3 weeks later and see if those same things were STILL there!  Now, that would be different.  As it is, he got thrown out of the last store for taking “pictures of the women,” at least, that’s what he was reported for.

I hate to tell him, but, since 9-11, it is pretty much illegal to take pictures inside of any store or mall.  They are afraid of terrorists taking pictures to get a layout of the place, I believe.  So, his entire effort was not only ridiculous, but the police could have confiscated his camera had they really chosen to do so.

How do you feel about the cleanliness in a store?

Do the customers have any responsibility here?

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Becki Duckworth  On May 25, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    Scott , a part of me wonders if he staged this. I have only been to a Walmart on 3 occasions. Once while visiting family in Illinois and twice in Oregon. The parking lots did not look like this.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 25, 2013 at 12:29 pm

      Perhaps, my sense of wonder is simply that what he took pictures of was not horrible. In fact, with the customer flow at Walmarts, this would be the immediate result of an hour’s time during a rush. That’s why I suggested waiting a week or two and checking same places.
      Thanks for your comment,
      Scott

      Like

  • August McLaughlin  On May 8, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    Good points here, Scott. Reminds me of critics and reviewers of books and other products out to trash the makers. Store cleanliness matters to me, but so does integrity.

    Like

  • I want the stores I shop in to be clean. However there’s only so much trash employees can keep up with. I wonder what the inside of his car looks like? Does he eat and/or drink in his vehicle? If so I’d guess the inside of his car isn’t that clean.

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

