3 Poems – A Bit More of My Past

.

.                                  The Leaf

.                         By Scott L Vannatter

.                                   5/2/85

.       I had a favorite leaf, a precious jewel.

.    In a moment of rage I flung it into the wind.

Then, sorrowfully, I watched it float from my life forever.

___________________________

Dead Possum

By Scott L Vannatter

5/3/85

I saw a dead possum lying beside the road,

and I wondered at the circumstances of his life.

I wondered if he had a mate and small ones now left to fend for themselves.

If he was a loner, searching and feisty, not yet set in his ways.

I wondered at his past, certainly not his future.

For I knew what that was to be

and as I thought, I envied that possum.

For it might be nice to know.

______________________________

A Word

By Scott L Vannatter

5/3/85

A word once said forever lives,

Feeding and spreading under proper conditions

with furious growth.

With the tender care of thought and love

It will sprout blossoms of beauty

richly rewarding the sower with fragrant fruitfulness.

But like a weed if out of place or crowded in

It will spread plague-like, tearing and destroying

even the deepest-rooted feelings and dreams.

So take care, gardener, when choosing your seeds.

Tender thoughts and sharing dreams grow into loving memories.

Hatred and selfishness sprout only themselves.

______________________________

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • thehappyhugger  On June 6, 2013 at 11:55 am

    Good poems, Scott 🙂

    Like

  • Indira  On June 5, 2013 at 5:16 am

    You write very nice poems. Loved all 3. Especially ‘The Leaf’.

    Like

  • EagleAye  On June 4, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    I really enjoyed these poems. They are all very powerful.

    Like

  • Debra Kristi  On June 4, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    I was always afraid to try my hand at poetry. My sister wrote a bunch of it. I really enjoy yours and it sometimes gives me the courage to try. Maybe someday. In the meantime I’ll continue to enjoy your writing. 🙂

    Like

  • Larry  On June 4, 2013 at 8:40 am

    I am really enjoying your writings from your youth. You were quite thoughtful. I bet the girls loved you and ate it up!

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On June 4, 2013 at 9:29 am

      Maybe, but I was such a mess and that was when I was in my late 20’s. I was married though most of it. I would not have thought it would be liked much or that girls would think more of me because of it. I did some of it because I was taking a night class in Poetry.

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

