A Night and a Day…

This is one of those days in which I wish I had a post already scheduled or another, at least, prepared.  I didn’t sleep last night.  No, I don’t mean I didn’t sleep “well”; I mean, I didn’t sleep.  I stayed up a bit late, but nothing I haven’t done before.  I took my meds for sleep, sat down at the computer to finish something, and then went to bed.

When I got in bed, I was extremely fidgety.  I could not settle; I could not concentrate; I could not dream well enough to ignore everything.  Finally, about 5am, I got up and went into the computer area.  I was done; I just didn’t know how much yet.

I looked through some things, then, in a fit, I ordered online a streaming version of “Dexter”  Season 7 and began watching.  It is now about 5:37pm and I have watched 5 full episodes.  I have watched the pilot of Stephen King’s “Under the Dome” and added it to my watch list.  I have played “Minecraft”.  I have checked email, read posts, read news, and tried to fix a computer problem (bad news when you are tired).  During the last, I managed to knock stacks of things over around my computer, lose all my passwords (found them), and load/unload “Firefox” multiple times.

Oh, yes…I lay down twice to “sleep”.

I, finally, got about 3 hours in 1 hour increments spread out over 5 hours.  What does this mean?

It means…I am exhausted.  Understand that I can’t just lie down and sleep when I want to.  Right now, I am very tired, but my mind is not sleepy and won’t cooperate for a nap.  I will just get feisty again.

The good news is that I am going to Indy early in the morning to see my son and I will need to get up about 8am, earlier than normal.  To do this, I was going to have to try and sleep earlier tonight – I don’t think that will be a problem now.

Thank you friends, for reading this and understanding and caring about my life.  It means the world to me.

PS – Went to see “The Heat” yesterday with Sandra Bullock (Well, I didn’t go with Sandra, but you understand).  Anyway, language is very strong, but the movie gets a 5 star from me for being the funniest thing I have seen in quite a while.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • KatrinaPerkins  On July 3, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    Early to bed is the only solution I have found to consistently work for me when sleep becomes back-logged due to early morning call-times on-set. The same mental fidgetiness bombards me the night prior: “will my alarm wake me”, “make sure you remember to take ____”, “is that enough time if there is traffic/the train is late”… I do my best to exercise hard, a hot shower, then straight to bed. The less computer and bright lights the better for the body to move into sleepy time mode, and the shower raises the body temperature so when one gets out and it drops this also aides to trigger bedtime because body temp drops during sleep. Interesting, huh. Good luck!! So happy you had an enjoyable visit with your son 🙂

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On July 3, 2013 at 6:05 pm

      I am glad you are able to do things to sleep better. I have tried the early to bed, late to bed, shower before, most of the usual things. It is, simply, that my brain does not produce the right chemicals anymore. It’s not normal and I have just tried to not stress about it anymore, as that does make it worse.

      Like

      • KatrinaPerkins  On July 7, 2013 at 7:01 pm

        To True. Stress sucks. All the best to sleep well when you can get it. I should have figured you had tried all the usuals, did not mean to demonstrate any ‘know-it-all-ness’ /: I gotta give my mom some credit for pegging me accurately with that label 😀 Enjoy the blessings you may have… the computer still works, I Pray!!

        Like

        • kindredspirit23  On July 8, 2013 at 1:39 am

          All is well. You dear would doubtfully ever come across badly to me. Computer here is fine.
          I have slept, though tonight will be a bit rough as it is 1:40 and I am not done.
          Scott

          Like

  • jmmcdowell  On July 1, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    Our bodies and brains just aren’t designed to miss much sleep. I hope you’ll be back on a better schedule soon.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On July 1, 2013 at 11:38 pm

      I am now, thank goodness! Visited my son today in Indy without incident. Home now and tired.

      Like

  • bert0001  On July 1, 2013 at 9:45 am

    Hope you got through the day without the usual headache …

    Like

  • behindthemaskofabuse  On July 1, 2013 at 12:17 am

    Sorry you’re struggling with sleep again, I hope it’s a better night tonight. I have slept well in a few nights either, i was pretty non functional today too.

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

